THE GRIZZLY ITCH by Victoria Cassanell is a beautifully illustrated children’s book about friendship – COMING SOON – PRE-ORDER NOW AVAILABLE

Title: THE GRIZZLY ITCH    

Author:  VICTORIA CASSANELL

Genre: CHILDREN’S FICTION

Length: 32 PAGES

Publisher: PUBLISHER’S GROUP CANADA

Received From: NETGALLEY

Release Date: MAY 5, 2020

ISBN: 9781529013566

Rating: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

DESCRIPTION:

A charming story about a blossoming friendship between a bear with an itch and a well-meaning beaver who wants to help.

When Bear wakes up from his winter sleep, he discovers an itch. And not just any itch – an unBEARable Grizzly Itch! But when he gets to his favourite scratching tree, it suddenly crashes to the ground. It turns out Beaver likes trees too.

Thankfully, Beaver knows lots of other trees, and promises to help Bear find a new one. But Bear’s itch is getting more grizzly by the minute, and none of the trees Beaver show him are quite right. Maybe it’s not a tree Bear needs, after all?
.

MY REVIEW:

THE GRIZZLY ITCH is an adorable tale about a Grizzly Bear who wakes up from his long winter sleep only to find that he has an unBEARable itch.

No problem, he thinks, he’ll just wander down to a spot he knows which has the best tree to rub against to get rid of his itch.

To his surprise, a beaver has used his favorite scratching tree in his dam. The beaver and the bear then set out to find a suitable substitute tree.

To bear’s surprise, his itch is finally allevied only through friendship.

This is a great story about not only friendship, but perseverance and problem solving. I highly recommend this lovely and gorgeously illustrated children’s book for ages 3 to 7.

I rate THE GRIZZLY ITCH as 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ and think this book would be a great addition to any children’s library as well as every Kindergarten to Grade Two classroom.

**** Thank you to NetGalley for providing me with a free copy of this book.****

.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Victoria is an author and illustrator from Yorkshire. She graduated with a first class BA Hons degree in Illustration from the Hull School of Art and Design in 2014.

Victoria also  completed the MA in Children’s Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art 2018.

Her debut picture book ‘The Grizzly Itch’ published by Macmillan is being released on 5th March 2020.

Victoria is Represented by:
Elizabeth Roy Literacy AgencyFor commissions and enquires contact:

elizabethrla@btinternet.com 

To learn more about this author, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

INSTAGRAM

TWITTER

AMAZON  

CHAPTERS

KOBO

PUBLISHER’S WEBSITE

ABOUT THE PUBLISHER:

PAN MACMILLAN UK is the original Publisher of this book.

Publishers Group Canada brings books from Pan Macmillan UK and over 130 independent publishers from around the world to Canadian readers.

To learn more about PUBLISHER’S GROUP CANADA visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE 
http://www.pgcbooks.ca/

TWITTER

FACEBOOK

PINTEREST

GOODREADS

INSTAGRAM

TUMBLR

#TheGrizzlyItch #NetGalley #kidlit #books #book #childrensbook #illustratedbooks #bookreview

STING by Cindy R. Wilson BLOG TOUR and GIVEAWAY

BLOG TOUR PROMO POST:

Check out my stop on the blog tour for Sting by Cindy R. Wilson from Entangled Teen!
Sting
by Cindy R. Wilson
Genre: YA Dystopian
Release date: March 3rd 2020
Entangled Teen

Summary:



They call me the Scorpion because they don’t know who I really am. All they know is that someone is stealing from people with excess to help people with nothing survive another day.
But then a trusted friend reveals who I am―“just” Tessa, “just” a girl―and sends me straight into the arms of the law. All those people I helped…couldn’t help me when I needed it.
In prison, I find an unlikely ally in Pike, who would have been my enemy on the outside. He represents everything I’m against. Luxury. Excess. The world immediately falling for his gorgeous smile. How he ended up in the dirty cell next to mine is a mystery, but he wants out as much as I do. Together, we have a real chance at escape.
With the sting of betrayal still fresh, Pike and I will seek revenge on those who wronged us. But uncovering all their secrets might turn deadly…
Purchase links can be found HERE! 
Excerpt 
He empties another pot of water. “How did you learn how to do all this?”
           “Unclog sinks?”
           “Fix things. They said the Scorpion built robots the size of men and sent giant tanks into those warehouses to collect all the supplies.”
           “Giant tanks?”
           “With electronic devices attached to the side. Weapons.”
           I stare at him.
           “What?” he asks.
           “Giant tanks and human-sized robots? Really? That’s a lot of embellishment.”
           I wish I could have built an army of robots, though. Something to fight back against the Enforcers. But we still have a chance. Me and Pike. We’re going to do this together.
           “You made a big impact, Tessa.”
           I look over, my hands dripping with sink water. He’s never called me Tessa before. I almost forgot he knows my real name.
           His eyes are earnest, focused on mine. “Whether you were building robots or not, you made a difference. People talk when that happens.”
           Mongo snaps out an order for us to get to work. I drop my eyes and continue to gather pots of water.
           “I made robots,” I admit with a shrug.
           Pike flashes a smile. “Yeah?”
           “Robotic scorpions to help canvas the city and the areas we planned on…visiting.”
           “Ah. Scorpion. I see. I was wondering where that came from.”
           “It wasn’t my idea to start calling myself that.”
           “Like I said, you made a difference.” He shifts another pot of water to the bucket. “People need heroes and hope to hold onto. When they get it, they do a lot more than embellish. They start to believe.”
I make myself continue working, though my heart is clutching at Pike’s words. I know what he’s talking about. I know about hope and believing. The first time we brought back supplies for the people in the Dark District and they thanked us, I believed we could do more. The first time a mother cried because we gave her food for her kids, I believed we could get into any warehouse anywhere and help more people. I had hope and I believed.

GIVEAWAY

Open to U.S. Only

ENTER TO WIN — One prize pack that includes a signed copy of STING and a $20 gift card (open to US only)

Click HERE to Enter

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Author: Cindy R. Wilson

Cindy lives at the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, and loves using Colorado towns and cities as inspiration for settings in her stories.

She’s the mother of three girls, who provide plenty of fodder for her YA novels.

Cindy writes speculative fiction and YA fiction, filled with a healthy dose of romance.

You’ll often find her hiking or listening to any number of playlists while she comes up with her next story idea.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:

Author Links:


Websitehttps://cindyrwilson.com


Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5363846.Cindy_R_Wilson


Twitterhttps://twitter.com/CindyRWilson


Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyRWilson/ 

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/cindyrwilson


Blog Tour Schedule

Check out all the wonderful blogs involved in this Blog Tour.

March 2, 2020

Brooke Blogs http://www.brookeblogs.com Promo Post


Living in a Bookworld https://livinginabookworld.blogspot.gr Promo Post


The Cover Contessa https://www.thecovercontessa.com Promo Post

*****YOU ARE HERE*****
Amie’s Book Reviews http://Amiesbookreviews.wordpress.com  Promo Post


The Cover Contessa https://www.thecovercontessa.com Promo Post


March 3, 2020

Publications https://hurnpublications.com/ Promo Post


Lilly’s Book World http://lillysbookworld.com Review


bookblogarama  https://bookblogarama.com Promo Post


Mythical Books http://mythicalbooks.blogspot.com/ Promo Post


March 4, 2020

on Books https://beckymmoe.com Promo Post


fundinmental http://www.fundinmental.com Review


michellemengsbookblog http://michellemengsbookblog.simplesite.com/442785989 Promo Post


Wishful Endings https://www.wishfulendings.com/ Promo Post


March 5, 2020

Teen Books – Kids, YA, and NA https://www.acmeteenbooks.com/ Review


Ga Books LoverX http://gabooksloverx.com/ Review


The Eclectic Review https://eclecticreview.com Review


Confessions of a YA Reader https://confessionsofayareader.wordpress.com/ Promo Post


Read Your Writes Book Reviews https://readyourwrites.blogspot.com/ Promo Post


March 6, 2020

Just Loves Books https://shejustlovesbooks.com/ Promo Post


Buried Under Books https://cncbooksblog.wordpress.com/ Review


Smada’s Book Smack https://smadasbooksmack.blogspot.com/ Review


The Avid Reader http://the-avidreader.blogspot.com Review


March 9, 2020

Bookworm for Kids https://www.bookwormforkids.blogspot.com Review


Character Madness and Musings https://jenabaxterbooks.blogspot.com/ Promo Post


Reading in Pyjamas https://www.readinginpyjamas.com/ Review


Sascha Darlington’s Microcosm Explored https://saschadarlington.me Review


March 10, 2020

Willow Writes and Reads https://willowwritesandreads.blogspot.com/ Promo Post


bookblogarama  https://bookblogarama.com Promo Post


Bookriot  https://anjedah.wordpress.com/ Promo Post


March 11, 2020

ashleysgotbookcitement https://ashleysgotbookcitement.blogspot.com/ Review

She Just Loves Books https://shejustlovesbooks.com/ Promo Post

March 12, 2020

Happily, Hedy Happilyhedy.wordpress.com Review


Bibli.ophagist https://www.instagram.com/bibli.ophagist Review


Teatime and Books http://www.teatimeandbooks76.blogspot.com Promo Post


March 13, 2020

Sometimes Leelynn Reads https://sometimesleelynnreads.com Review


HAVE COFFEE NEED BOOKS http://havecoffeeneedbooks.com Review


Forthenovellovers  Forthenovellovers.wordpress.com Review


Adventures in Writing http://thhernandez.com/blog-tours-4/ Review


Chapters through life  http://chaptersthroughlife.blogspot.co.uk/ Review

GIVEAWAY

ENTER TO WIN BY CLICKING ON THE LINK BELOW:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb554951354/

This Blog Tour and Giveaway have been organized by
YA BOUND BOOK TOURS

AND THE WINNER IS…

Thank you to everyone who entered my Giveaway to win an autographed copy of FROM THE ASHES by JESSE THISTLE.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

#1 National Bestseller
Finalist, CBC Canada Reads
Globe and Mail Book of the Year
An Indigo Book of the Year
A CBC Best Canadian Nonfiction Book of the Year

In this extraordinary and inspiring debut memoir, Jesse Thistle, once a high school dropout and now a rising Indigenous scholar, chronicles his life on the streets and how he overcame trauma and addiction to discover the truth about who he is.

If I can just make it to the next minute…then I might have a chance to live; I might have a chance to be something more than just a struggling crackhead.

From the Ashes is a remarkable memoir about hope and resilience, and a revelatory look into the life of a Métis-Cree man who refused to give up.

Abandoned by his parents as a toddler, Jesse Thistle briefly found himself in the foster-care system with his two brothers, cut off from all they had known. Eventually the children landed in the home of their paternal grandparents, whose tough-love attitudes quickly resulted in conflicts. Throughout it all, the ghost of Jesse’s drug-addicted father haunted the halls of the house and the memories of every family member. Struggling with all that had happened, Jesse succumbed to a self-destructive cycle of drug and alcohol addiction and petty crime, spending more than a decade on and off the streets, often homeless. Finally, he realized he would die unless he turned his life around.

In this heartwarming and heart-wrenching memoir, Jesse Thistle writes honestly and fearlessly about his painful past, the abuse he endured, and how he uncovered the truth about his parents. Through sheer perseverance and education—and newfound love—he found his way back into the circle of his Indigenous culture and family.

An eloquent exploration of the impact of prejudice and racism, From the Ashes is, in the end, about how love and support can help us find happiness despite the odds.

The Winner is…

KAY BURKE

I have emailed the winner. Again, thank you to everyone who entered.

Keep watching my blog for more Giveaways coming soon.

Author Jesse Thistle
Photography by Lucie Thistle

BITCHMEDIA Has Released Their List of 17 Memoirs Feminists Should Read in 2020

BOOKS,CULTURE,BITCH READS and MEMOIRS

BitchReads: 17 Memoirs Feminists Should Read in 2020

Article by Evette Dionne

Published on January 3, 2020

The Dragons, the Giant, the Women by Wayétu Moore, left, All Boys Aren’t Blue by George M. Johnson and Fairest by Meredith Talusan
(Photo credit: Graywolf Press, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, and Viking)

I love a good memoir. Though the ever-expanding genre has been criticized over the decades by people who view them as egotistical and insular, memoirs can be transformative.

Tapping into a person’s unique experience and seeing the world through their eyes for a few hundred pages can expand our individual worldview, help us better understand our own experiences with broader issues—including grief—and introduce us to powerful voices who articulate and excavate their lives in ways that so few of us can.

Among the many memoirs slated for release in 2020, these 17 represent the very best of the genre.

Want more seasonal reads? Make sure to sign up for our email list and we’ll send you a new BitchReads list, every quarter, in partnership with Powell’s Books!

In the Land of Men

By: Adrienne Miller{ Ecco }RELEASED: FEB. 11, 2020 $28.99 PreOrder It Now

If you love fascinating memoirs about women navigating male-dominated industries, then Adrienne Miller’s book should already be in your cart. Miller began her career in media as an editorial assistant at GQ magazine in the 1990s before becoming the first woman to serve as Esquire’s literary editor. Given that media is still an industry run by men—many of them white, many of them powerful, and way too many of them drunk on their own power—Miller’s 30 years’ worth of reflections show, alas, just how much hasn’t changed for women finding their footing in an industry that allows only a few of us to break through.

Strung Out: One Last Hit and Other Lies That Nearly Killed Me By: Erin Khar{ Park Row Books }

RELEASED: FEB. 25, 2020 $27.99 PreOrder It Now

Stephanie Land, author of the bestselling 2019 memoir Maid, says that Strung Out “will change how we look at the opioid crisis and how the media talks about it.” I agree.

Often, media stigmatizes the very people it aims to cover because there’s still so much we don’t understand about the development and impact of addiction. Erin Khar’s gift of a memoir examines her 15-year journey as a heroin user—and, perhaps more important, what brought her to drugs. Addiction stories are often linear (got hooked, hit bottom, got clean), but Khar instead offers a humanizing portrait not just of her own experience but of an issue that impacts more than two million people in the United States.

Recollections of My Nonexistence: A Memoir By: Rebecca Solnit

{Penguin Random House }RELEASED: MARCH 10, 2019 $26.00 Buy It Now

Prolific essayist Rebecca Solnit has long written about pop culture, politics, and mansplaining by weaving together her personal experience with a broader analysis, but it seems that Recollections of My Nonexistence is her first full-on memoir. Solnit brings readers to 1980s San Francisco for a comprehensive look at how she found her voice and her feminism amid discovering punk rock, witnessing rampant gender-based violence, and negotiating a culture of disbelief about everything from street harassment to rape. Recollections of My Nonexistence is also a memoir about writing, which is a gift from a writer as talented and transformative as Solnit. What shaped her perspective? How did she find the confidence to write with such stark honesty? These questions and more are answered.

Rust Belt Femme By: Raechel Anne Jolie

{Belt Publishing }RELEASED: MARCH 10, 2020 $26.00 Buy It Now

Raechel Anne Jolie (who has contributed to Bitch) grew up in Cleveland, Ohio, in the 1990s, finding herself amid an alternative subculture of “race cars, Budweiser drinking men covered in car grease, and the women who loved them.” After her father is killed by a drunk driver, Jolie and her mother struggled to stay afloat: facing eviction, going days with electricity and water, and hurting each other to escape the pain of financial uncertainty. Rust Belt Femme follows Jolie as she leaves the neighborhood she called home for Cleveland Heights where a subculture with a lot of personality welcomes her, helping to define who she is and where she’s headed next.

Assume Nothing: A Memoir of Intimate Violence

By: Tanya Selvaratnam {Henry Holt and Co. }RELEASED: APRIL 7, 2020 $27.99 Buy It Now

According to the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence, nearly 20 people per minute in the United States are physically abused by their romantic partner, which breaks down to more than 10 million people suffering abuse in the course of a single year. It never becomes easier to read about intimate-partner violence, but it’s always necessary. Tanya Selvaratnam’s heart-wrenching memoir explores her volatile relationship with former New York State Attorney General Eric Schneiderman, which included controlling behavior, death threats, and violent sex that she felt powerless to stop given that her partner was the state’s top-ranking law officer. 

Assume Nothing isn’t an easy read, but it’s an important window on how power insulates even the worst among us.

FROM OUR SPONSORS

Diary of a Drag Queen By: Crystal Rasmussen with Tom Rasmussen {FSG Originals}RELEASED: APRIL 14, 2020 $17.00 Buy It Now

Crystal Rasmussen, born as Tom, never knew a life before drag queendom. Even as they grew up in northern England, Rasmussen knew they weren’t meant to blend in—standing out was a given. By the time Rasmussen leaves London for a fashion job in New York, they’d come into their own, and this hilarious memoir follows them through a year of adventures, from being onstage to being in bed to realizing the fashion world is even more cutthroat than pop culture portrays it. Diary of a Drag Queen is equal parts inspiring and funny as hell.

This Is Big: How the Founder of Weight Watchers Changed the World—and Me

By: Marisa Meltzer {Little, Brown and Company}RELEASED: APRIL 14, 2020 $28.00 Buy It Now

According to the Boston Medical Center, an estimated 45 million adults in the United States embark on a diet every year, and for an increasing number of adults, an obsession with losing weight begins in childhood. Marisa Meltzer, a contributor to the New York Times and the New Yorker (who has contributed to Bitch), began her first diet at the age of 5, and since then has been on the familiar rollercoaster of losing and gaining weight. When Meltzer read the obituary of Jean Nidetch, the Queens housewife–turned–flamboyant founder of Weight Watchers, she realized how much her own journey ran parallel to that of the woman whose business became an emblem of our culture’s quest for thinness at any cost. This Is Big is an inventive memoir that examines Meltzer’s own experience with weight loss alongside Nidetch’s lucrative belief that community, not secretive shame, could transform people’s bodies and lives.

Missed Translations: Meeting the Immigrant Parents Who Raised Me

By: Sopan Deb

{Dey Street Books}RELEASED: APRIL 21, 2020 $27.99 Buy It Now

There comes a moment in many people’s lives when they realize that their parents or other guardian figures have lives, dreams, hopes, and goals outside of raising them and/or being a spouse. Comedian Sopan Deb’s revelation came as he approached his 30th birthday: He knew the basics about his parents, who’d immigrated, separately, from India to the United States in the 1960s and ’70s. He knew their marriage was arranged, and that his father returned to India several years into their marriage, leaving his children and his wife in suburban New Jersey, but he didn’t know much else. After the 2016 election, which found Deb juggling stand-up comedy and covering the Trump campaign for the New York Times, he decided to journey to India to reconnect with his father and in the process reconnect with himself.

All Boys Aren’t Blue By: George M. Johnson

Farrar, Straus and Giroux }RELEASED: APRIL 28, 2020 $17.99 Buy It Now

Award-winning journalist and activist George M. Johnson is one of my favorite people to follow on social media. His insights about everything from representation in pop culture to sexuality and health keep myself and many others engaged, and he brings that same level of introspection to his powerful memoir-manifesto. Johnson’s book is geared toward young adults—a market that needs this level of realness about everything from finding and harboring joy to bullying to navigating queerness. All Boys Aren’t Blue is a game changer.

Good Morning, Destroyer of Men’s Souls: A Memoir of Women, Addiction, and Love By: Nina Renata Aron {Crown}

RELEASED: MAY 5, 2020 $27.00 Buy It Now

When Nina Renata Aron began dating her boyfriend, K, it didn’t take long for him to relapse. Addiction is a disease; it can come upon those who are afflicted without warning and the effects are felt by the person addicted as well as those who love them. Good Morning, Destroyer of Men’s Souls explores how addiction transforms K, transforms their relationship, and transforms Aron’s relationship to herself and to her childhood. It’s difficult to tell someone else’s story of addiction with empathy and understanding, but Aron balances it all beautifully.

Get Bitch Media’s top 9 reads of the week delivered to your inbox every Saturday morning! Sign up for the Weekly Reader:Email *

Fairest By: Meredith Talusan {Viking}

RELEASED: MAY 26, 2020 $27.00 Buy It Now

I first learned about journalist and author Meredith Talusan in 2016 when she spearheaded Unerased, Mic’s award-winning multimedia project that chronicled the crisis of transgender women in the United States being murdered. Talusan has since been an integral part of them’s inaugural editorial team, where she still works as a contributing editor, and has been one of the strongest voices holding newsrooms accountable when they offer lip service to inclusivity but do not actually prioritize it. In Fairest, Talusan brings that same determination and brilliance to her own story, with recollections of immigrating to the United States, unlearning the gender binary, and, most important, coming into her own.

In Open Country By: Rahawa Haile {Harper}RELEASED: JUNE 2, 2020

Buy It Now

On October 3, 2016, Rahawa Haile announced on Twitter that she’d successfully hiked the Appalachian Trail from Georgia to Maine with a photo that captured the triumph. Since then, she’s published a canonical piece in Outside that detailed her experience and an incredible essay in BuzzFeed about leaving books by Black authors for other hikers to discover. Her upcoming memoir considers “what it means to move through America and the world as a Black woman.” Though there aren’t too many details on In Open Country, we know what Haile is capable of as a writer—and that alone has us thirsting to dig into this book.

The Dragons, the Giant, the Women By: Wayétu Moore {Graywolf Press}RELEASED: JUNE 2, 2020 $26.00 Buy It Now

Is it possible to find home again after being unexpectedly uprooted during a political upheaval? That’s one of the questions at the center of Wayétu Moore’s second book, which chronicles one of the most difficult experiences of her young life. At the age of 5, the civil war in Liberia forces Moore and her family—minus her mother, who’s studying at a university in New York—to flee the country. After a three-week journey on foot, Moore and her family are smuggled to the border of Sierra Leone and, from there, travel to the United States to reunite with her mother and begin a brand new life. The Dragons, the Giant, the Women is a beautifully written book about the experience of migrating—a story, particularly in this moment, that can never be told enough.

The Groom Will Keep His Name By: Matt Ortile

{Bold Type Books}RELEASED: JUNE 16, 2020 $16.99 Buy It Now

Recent years have brought us an array of memoirs and essay collections that specifically center the experiences of gay men negotiating the tenacious homophobia of the United States: Michael Arceneaux’s I Can’t Date Jesus: Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I’ve Put My Faith in Beyoncé, Darnell L. Moore’s No Ashes in the Fire: Coming of Age Black and Free in America, and Saeed Jones’s How We Fight for Our Lives come immediately to mind. The success of these books feels like an assurance that we’ll continue to see stories like theirs move out of the margins of the literary canon. In The Groom Will Keep His Name, Matt Ortile, managing editor of Catapult, offers up his unique experiences as a Filipino immigrant figuring out how to date in a world where we’re all encouraged to be curated versions of ourselves. The book’s clever title reflects its witty and captivating takes on everything from one-night stands to dating apps and beyond.

Notes on a Silencing

By: Lacy Crawford

{Little, Brown & Company}RELEASED: JULY 14, 2020 $28.00 Buy It Now

Many of us have fragmented memories that cause us to question what’s real and what we’ve imagined. But when St. Paul’s School, an elite boarding school in Concord, New Hampshire, was deemed a “haven for sexual predators” in a May 2018 lawsuit filed by two of the school’s alumnae, Lacy Crawford realized that her hazy recollection of being assaulted at age 15 by two fellow students many years earlier—and the efforts of the school’s administration, including faculty and clergy, to shield her attackers from consequences—wasn’t something she’d invented or imagined. Once St. Paul’s extensive history of burying crimes and harming victims became national news, Crawford got access to files about her case that she’d never seen before; her experience of revisiting the trauma, realizing just how far the school had gone to protect her assaulters, and coming to terms with the cost of that injustice is the foundation for this incredible memoir.

Memorial Drive: A Daughter’s Memoir

By: Natasha Trethewey {Ecco}

RELEASED: JULY 28, 2020 $27.99 Buy It Now

Pulitzer Prize–winning poet Natasha Trethewey has long said that her mother’s 1985 murder at the hands of her ex-husband propelled her into the art form and has continued to haunt her even as she’s found extraordinary success that includes being named U.S. Poet Laureate in 2012 and 2013. Trethewey told the Chicago Tribune in November 2018 that she thinks of herself as “someone who has lived in a state of bereavement my whole adult life,” and in Memorial Drive, she explores the loss and lingering grief that has shaped so much of her work. Trethewey’s heartbreakingly beautiful memoir honors her mother, Gwendolyn, while also indicting a culture that fails to protect abuse victims as they try to retrieve their lives from the clutches of their abusers.

Being Lolita

By: Alisson Wood

{Flatiron Books}RELEASED: AUGUST 4, 2020 $26.99 Buy It Now

Since the #MeToo movement spotlighted predators in Hollywood, journalism, and beyond, a number of memoirs have taken stock of how power dynamics can shape—and exploit— an array of relationships, including platonic ones between teachers and students (Donna Freitas’s Consent: A Memoir of Unwanted Attention) and those where the boundaries of friendship are betrayed by rape (Jeannie Vanasco’s Things We Didn’t Talk About When I Was a Girl). Allison Wood, winner of the inaugural Breakout 8 Writers Prize and a creative writing teacher at New York University, adds to this growing canon with a chronicle of her two-year relationship with her high-school English teacher.

There’s more…

Members of The Rage get exclusive content, including Bitch magazine in print. Membership starts at just $5 a month and helps support Bitch’s critical feminist analysis.

Join Today.

Read this Next: No More White Girl Tales

by Kristin SandersNovember 13, 2017Myriam Gurba’s criticism of white America’s racial myopia couldn’t be better timed.

BY EVETTE DIONNEView profile »

Evette Dionne is Bitch Media’s editor-in-chief. She’s all about Beyoncé, Black women, and dope TV shows and books. You can follow her on Twitter.

THANKS TO BITCH MEDIA’S SPONSORS

GladRags

Email address *© 2020 BITCH MEDIA | PRIVACY POLICY

THE EAGLE MOTHER written by Indigenous Author and HETXW’MS GYETXW (BRETT D. HUSON) with illustrations by award-winning Métis Illustrator NATASHA DONOVAN – A Feast for the eyes and the soul

Title: THE EAGLE MOTHER

Series: MOTHERS OF XSAN SERIES – BOOK THREE

Author: HETXW’MS GYETXW (BRETT D. HUSON)

Illustrator: NATASHA DONOVAN

Genre: NON-FICTION, MIDDLE GRADE NON-FICTION, MULTICULTURAL INTEREST, INDIGENOUS NON-FICTION, CHILDREN’S NON-FICTION

Length:  32 PAGES

Publisher: HIGHWATER PRESS – A Division of PORTAGE AND MAIN PRESS

Received From: NETGALLEY

Release Date: APRIL 28, 2020

ISBN: 9781553798590 (Hardcover)

Price: $23.00 USD (Hardcover)

Rating: 5+ OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

DESCRIPTION:

Return to the valleys of the River of Mists with award-winning author Hetxw’ms Gyetxw (Brett D. Huson).

Nox xsgyaak, the eagle mother, cares for her brood in the embrace of a black cottonwood with the help of her mate.

Will both eaglets survive the summer in an environment that is both delicate and unforgiving?

Learn about the life cycle of these stunning birds of prey, the traditions of the Gitxsan, and how bald eagles can enrich their entire ecosystem.

Evocative illustration brings the Xsan’s flora and fauna to life for middle years readers in book three of the Mothers of Xsan series.

*A Note From the Publisher *


Other Titles in the Mothers of Xsan series include:

The Sockeye Mother

The Grizzly Mother

The Wolf Mother [forthcoming]

The Frog Mother [forthcoming]
.

MY REVIEW:

THE EAGLE MOTHER is a stunningly beautiful illustrated non-fiction book.

THE EAGLE MOTHER is a feast for the eyes and for the soul.

It is the story explaining the life cycle of a female eagle as well as the story of how everything is connected.

An example of what I mean by that is that both the words and the illustrations show how the fish caught by the mother eagle is brought by her to the nest to feed her babies, the bones and other detritus are discarded on the ground around the trunk of the cottonwood tree holding the nest. This in turn leads to a rich mixture of soil encouraging plant growth. There are several other examples of the circular cycle of life detailed in the text, as well as in illustrated form.

Where words appear that may be new, or unfamiliar, included on that page is a box containing the words and their definitions. This is a wonderful touch.

The only area I could possibly come up with as needing improvement would be the inclusion of a text box, similar to the one containing definitions, that listed the Gitxsan words alongside how to pronounce them phonetically. I would love to know that I am reading the words correctly when reading this book to my children and/or grandchildren.

This book is available in eBook format as well as in printed form. I based my review on the eBook version, but the illustrations are so gorgeous that I have decided to purchase it in printed form as well.

I have not yet had the pleasure of reading the other two books in the MOTHERS OF XSAN Series, but I plan to read and review each of them. Also, coming soon are two more book in the series. Their titles are: THE WOLF MOTHER and THE FROG MOTHER.

This book (in fact, the entire ‘Mothers of Xsan’ series) should be available at every Canadian library, and in every Canadian school. Parents who want their children to learn about the animal kingdom as well as learn about different cultures should order this book immediately.

I rate this children’s non-fiction book as 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

**** Thank you to NetGalley and the Publisher for providing me with a free copy of this book.****

P.S. Since I READ CANADIAN DAY is only two days away, this book series would be perfect as your choice for that day.

.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

HETXW’MS GYETXW also known as Brett D. Huson (he/him/his), is from the Gitxsan Nation of the Northwest Interior of British Columbia, Canada.

Growing up in this strong matrilineal society, Brett developed a passion for the culture, land, and politics of his people, and a desire to share their knowledge and stories. 

Brett has worked in the film and television industry, and has volunteered for such organizations as Ka Ni Kanichihk and Indigenous Music Manitoba.

The Sockeye Mother (winner of The Science Writers and Communicators Book Award) was Brett’s first book for children.

To learn more about this author, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

GOODREADS

FACEBOOK

INSTAGRAM

TWITTER

AMAZON  

CHAPTERS

PUBLISHER’S WEBSITE

…………

ABOUT THE ILLUSTRATOR:

Natasha Donovan – Self-Portrait

NATASHA DONOVAN (she/her/hers) is a freelance artist and illustrator from Vancouver, British Columbia.

Her sequential work has been published in The Other Side and This Place: 150 Years Retold anthologies.

She is the illustrator of the award-winning graphic novel Surviving the City, as well as the award-winning children’s book, The Sockeye Mother (shortlisted for the Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction), the first book in the Mothers of Xsan series.

Natasha is a member of the Métis Nation of British Columbia.

To learn more about this Illustrator, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

GOODREADS

TWITTER

AMAZON

CHAPTERS

PUBLISHER’S WEBSITE

ABOUT THE PUBLISHER:

Portage & Main Press (PMP) is an educational publisher of K-12 resources including the curriculum-based Hands-On series and professional resources for inclusive and diverse classrooms.

HighWater Press (HWP), an imprint of PMPM, publishes a wide range of award-winning Indigenous-authored stories. These authentic stories, told by some of Canada’s most recognized Indigenous writers, include globally relevant social justice themes and the re-telling of historical events. HWP’s vibrant and thought-provoking books include a rich mix of non-fiction, novels, graphic novels, and children’s literature.

To learn more about this Publisher, visit the following links:

PORTAGE AND MAIN PRESS

INSTAGRAM

FACEBOOK

YOUTUBE

TWITTER

Let me know in the comment section below what book you and/or your child is reading for
“I Read Canadian Day” and you may win a bookish prize.

#mothersofxsan #NetGalley #theeaglemother #eaglemother #indigenous #childrensnonfiction #kidlit #brettdhuson #hetxwmsgyetxw #natashadonovan #illustrated #illustratedbook #multicultural #diversity #diversebooks #noxxsgyaak #Gitxsan #gitxsannation #culture #indigenousculture #eagles #xsgyaak
#youngadultbooks  #indigenousstorytelling  #indigenousbooks

We, The Wildflowers by L.B. Simmons – NOW AVAILABLE

Title: WE, THE WILDFLOWERS

Author: L.B. Simmons

Release Date: February 11, 2020

Their strength and ferocity stem from below the surface where their roots are forever
tangled, interwoven in such a way that for the remainder of time they bloom together, and when winter finally prevails, they perish as one…until spring brings them to life once again.”

DESCRIPTION:

Genesis

Adam
Chloe
Lukas
No one loves them, no one cares about them, no one even sees them until they end up in Mary Rodriguez’s home, an outpost for Sacred Heart’s Troubled Youth Program. It is within these walls that the four teens forge unlikely friendships. They experience the intensity of first loves, share secrets, and suffer losses, vowing to make the world a better place in spite of their personal battles with addiction, depression, loneliness, and abuse. But when the unthinkable happens, those friendships are tested in ways they never could have imagined.
Will they find strength enough to survive or will their bonds be too fractured to heal them yet again?
Get your copy HERE:

MY REVIEW:

In WE, THE WILDFLOWERS, readers will meet four teenagers whose lives will intersect and even though no familial blood runs through their veins, they will nevertheless become a type of family.

Tackling issues such as suicide, depression, addiction and abuse, this book is one which young adults should identify with.

Finally, the world is ready to talk frankly and honestly about mental health issues and this book tackles them with unfettered honesty. Even though the story is fiction, the issues that Genesis, Lukas, Chloe and Adam have faced in their pasts are very real.

The one thing that I disliked was the use of profanity. I don’t mind when characters swear normally, but in this case, the swearing seemed like it was only included as a way to try to make the teens sound more authentic, but in my opinion, it does the opposite. However, that is a small issue and can be easily overlooked by the reader.

I rate WE, THE WILDFLOWERS as 4 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐

**Thank you to the Author and to Wildfire Marketing Solutions for providing me with a free copy of this book.**

Check out the trailer HERE:
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
After graduating from Texas A&M University, L.B. Simmons did what any biomedical science major could do. She entered the workforce as a full-time chemist. Years later, never in her wildest dreams would she have imagined herself a USA Today Bestselling contemporary romance author as well. 

What began as a memoir for her children, ended up being her first self-published book, Running on Empty. Initially it was written to chronicle their actions, their phrases, and their silly arguments so that when they were older, they would always have those memories. The memoir soon began to take on a life of its own, morphing into the story of a single mother with three little girls finding love when she least expected it. Soon after, her girls were given reoccurring roles in the remainder of what became the Mending Hearts series.
That’s how her journey as an author began, and she hopes to God it never ends. 
L.B. Simmons doesn’t just write books. With each new work, she attempts to compose journeys of love and self-discovery so she may impart life lessons to readers. Several novels later, she’s tackled suicide, depression, bullying, eating disorders, as well as physical and sexual abuse, all the while weaving elements of humor into the storylines in effort to balance the difficult topics. Often described as roller coaster rides, her novels are known for eliciting a wide range of emotions in each story she tells.
Connect with L.B. Simmons

BOOK LAUNCH ON THURSDAY NIGHT – COME OUT WITH ME for the LAUNCH OF “DISFIGURED” by AMANDA LEDUC in Hamilton, Ontario

Exciting News

DISFIGURED

By: AMANDA LEDUC

Book Launch for Disfigured: On Fairy Tales, Disability and Making Space by Amanda Leduc.

Join Amanda Leduc for the launch of Disfigured: On Fairy Tales, Disability and Making Space. Sarah Jama co-founder of the Disability Justice Network of Ontario (DJNO), an organization committed to building the political and community power of people with disabilities, will be moderating.

Disfigured challenges the ableism of fairy tales and offers new ways to celebrate the magic of all bodies. In fairy tales, happy endings are the norm – as long as you’re beautiful and walk on two legs. After all, the ogre never gets the princess. And since fairy tales are the foundational myths of our culture, how can a girl with a disability ever think she’ll have a happy ending?

By examining the ways that fairy tales have shaped our expectations of disability, Disfigured will point the way toward a new world where disability is no longer a punishment or impediment but operates, instead, as a way of centering a protagonist and helping them to cement their own place in a story, and from there, the world. Through the book, Leduc ruminates on the connections we make between fairy tale archetypes – the beautiful princess, the glass slipper, the maiden with long hair lost in the tower – and tries to make sense of them through a twenty-first-century disablist lens. From examinations of disability in tales from the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen through to modern interpretations ranging from Disney to Angela Carter, and the fight for disabled representation in today’s media, Leduc connects the fight for disability justice to the growth of modern, magical stories, argues for increased awareness and acceptance of that which is other – helping us to see and celebrate the magic inherent in different bodies.

Amanda Leduc’s essays and stories have appeared in publications across Canada, the US, and the UK. She is the author of the novels The Miracles of Ordinary Men and the forthcoming The Centaur’s Wife . She has cerebral palsy and lives in Hamilton, Ontario, where she works as the Communications Coordinator for the Festival of Literary Diversity (FOLD), Canada’s first festival for diverse authors and stories.

Event Details:

Wednesday, February 12 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
First Unitarian Church, 170 Dundurn Street South, Hamilton, ON


Admission is free, all are welcome
The Unitarian Church has wheelchair accessible entry and wheelchair accessible washrooms. Accessible parking is available on either side of the entrance doors. For more accessibility information on the venue, please visit their website.
https://uuhamilton.ca

Please note that the venue is a nut-free and scent-free space.

………………..


PARKING

Ample car parking is available for most people in our own parking lot with additional space available at the Fortino’s plaza nearby at Dundurn and Main.

Parking spots for differently-abled are reserved near both doors.
……………………………


CLICK HERE TO BOOK YOUR FREE TICKETS FOR THE BOOK LAUNCH.

To learn more about Amanda Leduc, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

TWITTER

INSTAGRAM

FACEBOOK

SPLIT TOOTH by TANYA TAGAQ on Audiobook is a sensory experience not to be missed

Title: SPLIT TOOTH

Author: TANYA TAGAQ

Narrator: TANYA TAGAQ

Genre: NON-FICTION, BIOGRAPHIES AND MEMOIRS, INDIGENOUS PEOPLES, DIVERSE NON-FICTION, THROAT SINGING, ABUSE

Length: 5 HOURS and 43 MINUTES

Publisher: VIKING AUDIO

Type of Book: AUDIOBOOK

Release Date: SEPTEMBER 25, 2018

Rating: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

DESCRIPTION:

From the internationally acclaimed Inuit throat singer who has dazzled and enthralled the world with music it had never heard before, a fierce, tender, heartbreaking story unlike anything you’ve ever heard.

Fact can be as strange as fiction. It can also be as dark, as violent, as rapturous. In the end, there may be no difference between them.

A girl grows up in Nunavut in the 1970s. She knows joy and friendship and parents’ love. She knows boredom and listlessness and bullying. She knows the tedium of the everyday world and the raw, amoral power of the ice and sky, the seductive energy of the animal world. She knows the ravages of alcohol and violence at the hands of those she should be able to trust. She sees the spirits that surround her and the immense power that dwarfs all of us.

When she becomes pregnant, she must navigate all this.

Veering back and forth between the grittiest features of a small arctic town, the electrifying proximity of the world of animals and ravishing world of myth, Tanya Tagaq explores a world where the distinctions between good and evil, animal and human, victim and transgressor, real and imagined lose their meaning, but the guiding power of love remains.

Haunting, brooding, exhilarating, and tender all at once, Tagaq moves effortlessly between fiction and memoir, myth and reality, poetry and prose, and conjures a world and a heroine listeners will never forget.
.
.
…..
https://player.vimeo.com/video/348888772
………

MY REVIEW:

**TRIGGER WARNING **
This book contains descriptions of child sexual abuse. If this topic is a trigger for you, I suggest you give this book a pass.
***************************

I purchased a copy of this audiobook from Audible and now that I have finished listening to it, I believe audio is the best way to experience SPLIT TOOTH.

I feel so privileged to have listened to author Tanya Tagaq read her book aloud. Traditionally, the Inuit people passed down their stories and traditions in exactly this manner. Oral storytelling was the norm.

Not only does the author read this book with emotion and depth of experience,  she also includes quite a bit of Throat Singing which is incredible to listen to.
The sounds are somehow both ethereal and haunting and despite the lack of lyrics, or maybe because of it, the meanings behind the sounds are quite clear.

Poignant. Visceral. Heart-breaking and real. Tanya Tagaq manages to convey her story in such a unique fashion that it is impossible to ever forget. Despite the heaviness of some of the subject matter, there are many moments of joy, happiness, peace, and a sense of belonging to something greater than herself.

The unfortunate details of abuse, both physical and sexual that Tanya endured as a child were perpetrated by those who should have been her protectors.

No matter what she endured, she knew that she was capable of survival.

The evils of the Canadian Residential Schools had so thoroughly erased her native language that hardly anyone in her ‘town’ knew how to speak it anymore. Not only that, but unthinkable abuses – sexual, physical, cultural and mental were forced upon Residential School “students,” (who were actually prisoners, since neither the children, nor their parents had any choice about attending.)

Make no mistake – these “schools” were an attempt at genocide of the Inuit and of all Indigenous people. There is no excuse or apology that can be adequate enough to erase the damage they caused. And, that damage has reached across the hands of time and affected many children of subsequent generations, including Tanya herself.

Don’t mistake my description to mean that Tanya Tagaq’s memoir is a litany of anger and complaint. It is anything but. Her writing is akin to reading her diary. Listening to the audiobook, I feel as though I have seen inside her very soul. If that sounds over dramatic, I apologize, it is truly the way I feel.

This audiobook is not to be missed. I am sure that just reading the book would be a terrific experience, but as I said above, audio format makes this book not just a story, but also an experience.

I am rating SPLIT TOOTH by TANYA TAGAQ as 5 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Tanya also has many music albums available for purchase and after hearing some of her traditional throat singing, I will be downloading her music as well.
.


.
QUOTES:

Examples of the artwork Tanya Tagaq has created.

“… pain is to be expected, courage is to be welcomed. There is no choice but to endure. There is no other way than to renounce self-doubt. It is the time of the Dawning in more ways than one. The sun can rise, and so can I.”
.
“In the spring you smell last fall’s death and this year’s growth as the elder lichen shows the young how to grow.”
.
“We are product of the immense torque that propels this universe. We are not individuals but a great accumulation of all that lived before.”
.
.
.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Photograph obtained from Tanya Tagaq’s website

Author, Throat singer, artist. Tanya Tagaq is multi-talented.

To learn more about this author, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE
http://tanyatagaq.com

AUDIBLE

GOODREADS

FACEBOOK

INSTAGRAM

TWITTER

YOUTUBE   

AMAZON

CHAPTERS

SPOTIFY

ITUNES

SOUNDCLOUD


AWARDS WON BY THIS BOOK:

Longlisted for the 2018 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Shortlisted for the 2019 Amazon First Novel Award

Shortlisted for the 2019 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize

Winner of the 2019 Indigenous Voices Award for Published Prose in English

Winner of the 2018 Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design – Prose Fiction

Longlisted for the 2019 Sunburst Award