New Release – DEAD MAN’S CURVE by Canadian author ALEX VAN TOL is a Halloween tale of terror for teens 



Author: ALEX VAN TOL  

Type of Book: EBOOK


Length: 96 PAGES 

Publisher: LEAP BOOKS  

Release Date: OCTOBER 17, 2016

ISBN: 978-1-61603-081-0 

Price:  $1.99 USD

Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars 🌟🌟🌟 


Halloween parties in the backwoods where no parents can find you and even the cops aren’t likely to break it up are a long-standing teenage tradition. In fact, they are almost a rite of passage.

In the middle of the National forest in the Virginia backwoods is a stretch of road known as “Dead Man’s Curve.”

It is Halloween night and Booker has  “borrowed” his Dad’s truck for the night. He is driving a few friends home from the party. In the front seat beside him is Rachel; a girl he broke up with two years earlier and he regrets ever letting her go.

Just as the truck reaches Dead Man’s Curve Booker’s phone rings. He knows better than to try to answer it while driving so he just glances at it to see who could possibly be calling him at one o’clock in the morning.

That one second of inattention just might change all of their lives forever … or maybe not. Is the curve the entrance to Hell or is it just a curve in the road?

You will have to read DEAD MAN’S CURVE by Canadian author Alex Van Tol to find out.

The book starts out interesting and then the characters go into the woods and things take a turn for the bizarre. I believe that the scenes that take place are supposed to come across as terrifying, but in my opinion it does not work out that way. Instead, the scenes are just plain odd. However, I understood what the author was trying to do, which is why I chose to give this book a rating of 3 out of 5 Stars 🌟 🌟 🌟 

Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book. 




Alex Van Tol is a reader, a writer, an editor, a teacher and a devoted word nerd. Her favourite Sunday involves drinking coffee and reading the newspaper. And then maybe a magazine. And then maybe a novel.

She writes books, articles and web content as well as all kinds of other things that people read. Alex always wanted to be an author when she grew up, and she feels pretty lucky that she has been able to make that happen. (All it took was work, really.) Before she started writing books, she worked as a camp counsellor and then as a middle-school teacher.

Her first book was published in 2010 and she has just finished books #12 and 13 — which will be published later this year and in 2017.

Alex is touring throughout BC this year, visiting schools and talking to students about her books, including her newest, Aliens Among Us: Invasive Animals and Plants in British Columbia and Dead Man’s Curve.

 Right now she is working for clients, writing for magazines and co-authoring the first book in a thrillogy with the incredibly talented Sean Rodman.

Alex likes cloudy days, jazz and indie music, radio programs that make her think, and people who treat other people the way they would like to be treated. She believes that’s the mark of a great person and encourages people to find those ones: they’re keepers.

To learn more about this author or to book a school visit, check out the following links:




CREEPY CRAWLY CROCHET by Megan Kreiner is AWESOME and a must buy for every crocheter from beginner to expert. 5 STARS 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 





Length: 112 PAGES  


Release Date: SEPTEMBER 21, 2016 

ISBN: 9780486810799 

Rating: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

This is a wonderful collection of crochet patterns with detailed instructions and high quality photos.

This is the perfect time of year to buy this book since Halloween is right around the corner. Some of the creatures that are included in this book are:

Boo Boo the Voodoo Doll  

Jack, the Headless Horseman, and his horse

 Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde  

Carl of the Dead and Daisy, his Zombie Dog and MORE.

This book is suitable for both beginner and intermediate crochet afficianos.

Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book.

I plan to make almost all of the 17 creatures. These creepy characters will make great gifts for science fiction and horror fans and for fans of old horror movies as well as those who love zombie fiction and television shows such as The Walking Dead.

I rate this amazingly fun crochet pattern book as 5 out of 5 stars. 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟  

Buy online at Dover Publications.


Megan Kreiner is an experienced knit and crochet designer. She is the author of several books, and her designs have appeared in many other publications. 

The Long Island native currently lifes in Altadena, California, where she is an animator with DreamWorks. 

To learn more about this author visit the following links: 






To receive a free “GUS GUS” pattern click on the photo below. 

IN THE VALLEY WHERE BELLADONNA GROWS by TIM LEBBON ends with a twist readers won’t see coming. 4 Stars. 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 


Author: TIM LEBBON   


Length: 78 PAGES    


Release Date: AUGUST 25, 2016

ISBN: 9781537450827   

Rating:4 OUT OF 5 STARS🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Mary has lived alone in her valley for over 16 years. She has been there ever since her husband banished her from the city. It was supposed to be a punishment and at first it was, but over time she came to love her valley, her garden and even the wildlife that often visited. Now in her late seventies, Mary cannot imagine wanting any other kind of life. She is happy – content.

That is why she is so surprised when she gets a visitor from the city with a message from her husband saying that she is now free to leave the valley. But she already felt free, so why should she leave if she did not want to.

When her first visitor in sixteen years appeared, he somehow brought change with him. That small change in routine leads to more visitors and other changes and Mary wonders why things had to change. And those changes are not for the better.

Reality has come crashing into Mary’s world and she is not sure what to do about it. So, she chooses to ignore it and does nothing. “Routine calmed Mary’s recent upsets and made placid the upheaval that had struck the valley.”

But will Mary be able to survive the changes through sheer force of will? What will happen to her? And why are these changes happening now?

You will have to read IN THE VALLEY WHERE BELLADONNA GROWS to find out.

Although this book is technically a novella since it is only 78 pages long, it contains a full novel’s worth of story.

This book is perfect for anyone who has ever felt alone or abandoned and for anyone wanting a unique read with an interesting twist.

I enjoyed reading this book and loved the twist at the end. I rate this book as 4 out of 5 stars. 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 

* I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley.

Tim Lebbon is a talented, highly-respected author, and the winner of multiple writing awards.

Tim was born in 1969 in London and lived in Devon until I was eight, and the next twenty years were spent in Newport. With his wife Tracey they then did a Good Thing and moved back to the country, and now live in the little village of Goytre in Monmouthshire with their kids Ellie and Daniel.

It’s a lovely place – pub, shop, chip shop, school – and they are  very happy there. Two minutes’ walk in any direction and they’re in the countryside, and the area has featured, intentionally or not, in much of his writing.


Bram Stoker Award for Short Fiction – 2001 Reconstructing Amy

British Fantasy Award for Best Short Fiction – 2000

WhiteBritish Fantasy Award for Best Short Fiction – 2001Naming of Parts

British Fantasy Awards 2007 – August Derleth Fantasy Award for Best Novel

DuskScribe Award for Best Adapted Screenplay – 2007 30 Days of Night

To learn more about this author visit the following links:


STRONG IS THE NEW PRETTY by Photographer Kate T. Parker is a feast for both the eyes and the soul – COMING SOON 



Author: KATE T. PARKER   

Genre: Photography, Inspirational, Women’s Issues, Gender Stereotypes 

Length: 257 PAGES 

Release Date: MARCH 7, 2017 


ISBN: 978-1523500680

Suggested Retail Price: $30 USD / $45 CDN 

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟


STRONG IS THE NEW PRETTY is a book filled with photographs of girls being themselves.

There is no air-brushing here and no staged photos. Photographer Kate T. Parker started this project by taking photographs of her two daughters. She “wanted to showcase her girls as they are … loud, messy, silly, fearless, independent, confident and fierce. Through her images she wanted to combat the messages the media sends to women and girls: that beauty is a hairstyle, a certain size or an outfit. Kate’s goal was to show that true beauty is in being yourself 100%.”

She has included pictures of children and teens who are just being themselves and each of whom is confident in their appearance. There are pictures of girls of different races and even pictures of girls who have physical challenges such as being confined to a wheelchair. I love that she included disabled girls since you rarely see photographs of these girls in mainstream media. Included with each picture is a quote from that specific girl. These quotes are raw and unpolished and 100% real and I love that they have been included. It definitely adds authenticity to the photographs and to the core message of the book. 

The one thing that disappointed me about this book was that almost every girl whose picture was included was either skinny or average sized. I only saw one picture of a girl who was a bit overweight. I think that any book that purports to celebrate girls “as they really are” should also include girls who are overweight yet who are still confident in their appearance. I was very disappointed that these girls seem to have been overlooked. 
Despite the omission of overweight girls, I think this book is a triumph. It is something that every parent who has a female child should own and should be prominently displayed on their coffee tables where both the parent and the child can look at it frequently. 

What better gift can you give to your daughter than proof that they can be and do anything and that they need not look a certain way to be beautiful. This is a wonderful book with an inspiring message. I rate STRONG IS THE NEW PRETTY as 4 out of 5 Stars. 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Hopefully the author/photographer will add pictures of girls who are overweight before the publication date. If that is done, my rating would change to 5 out of 5 Stars.

* I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley

Pre-Order your copy now by clicking on one of the following links: 
Amazon in Canada   
Amazon in the United States   



The following description was copied directly from Kate T. Parker’s website.

Hello! I am Kate. I am a commercial and fine art photographer based in Atlanta. I am also a lucky mom to two amazing girls.

I started on the agency side of things as a producer/video editor which offers a unique perspective for my commercial clients. I love this job. A lot.

My personal work has been featured in galleries internationally.

I also speak on the subjects of photography and women’s issues.

“Strong is the New Pretty” is soon to be a book with Workman Publishing. Coming 2017!

Diet Sunkist, the Foo Fighters, Crossfit, running, golden retrievers, Bravo reality TV, Netflix, inappropriate laughter, sneaker shopping, and sleeping in on the weekends all keep me sane and happy when not shooting.

Partial Client List – Sprout Network, Oxygen Network, NFL, Verizon, American Standard, Staybridge Suites, Shutterfly, Athleta, Girls on the Run, Kellogg’s, NBC Universal.

Awards/Accolades: Critical Mass Top 50, 2015, Mason Murer Gallery, PDN Photo Annual Select Winner, 2015, Under My Roof, 2014, Top 10 Family Photographer in the World, 2015, One to Watch Atlanta Celebrates Photography, 2015, Passion for Freedom UK Show, 2015, Happiest Instagram Feeds, 2015.

To learn more about photographer Kate T. Parker visit the following links:






4 Stars well deserved for Jonathan Olivier’s debut novel about finding a place where you truly belong. BETWEEN THE LEVEES is a wonderful and emotional read.




Type of Book: SOFTCOVER


Length: 215 PAGES


Release Date: JULY 4, 2016 

ISBN: 9780997731804 

Price: $12.99 USD at AMAZON.COM
Rating: 4 OUT OF 5 STARS 🌟🌟🌟🌟

* I won a free autographed copy of this book through the Goodreads Giveaway program.
What does home mean to you?

What is the definition of family?

How important is it to find a place where you truly feel that you belong? And, what would you be willing to do to find it?

Sam’s parents died when he was only an infant. The courts were able to find a distant relative who was willing to take him in, but his early life was anything but idyllic. Because of this, he left “home” at the young age of seventeen and never looked back.

“It took eight years before his lonely, stagnant life became too much for him. After a night of coming too close to hitting the bottle – something he vowed he’d never again do – he knew he needed to find out who his family was. He knew that he needed to uncover who he was, too.”

Based on a name that appeared in court documents, Sam left Boston for the swamps of Louisiana – looking for a man named Vincent in a place called “Bayou Pigeon.”

What he finds there changes his view of himself and of his place in the world.

The author’s obvious love for the swamps and back lanes of Louisiana c?shines through in this book. With emotive prose and detailed descriptions, readers will find themselves falling in love with Louisiana as well and itching for the opportunity to visit the swamps of the Atchafalaya.

Jonathan Olivier has a definite talent, not only for describing the swamps and their unique landscapes, but also for character building and for bringing his characters to life on the written page.

My only complaint regarding this book is the editing/ proof-reading.

There are multiple instances of editing errors inckuding awkward phrasing. For example:

“Sam had looked forward to getting to again eat the fresh fish Vincent cooked up. As he took his first bite, the freshness of the meat was again apparent, accentuated with a hint of Cajun spices.”

I found these two sentences to be both awkward and overly wordy. I realize that this is just my humble opinion, but I believe that many other readers will agree with me. However, even though the book is not perfect, the phrasing issues should have been caught and addressed by the editor, so it is not the author’s fault. 

There are other small editing errors as well, such as missing commas. These small errors can be distracting to the reader.

For example; “I told you before you left this place gets in your blood.”

Without a comma the above sentence can be read many different ways. To change this and to make it less confusing, I would suggest that it be  written like this:

“I told you before you left, this place gets in your blood.”

The third type of editing errors found in this book were missing or extra words in sentences.

For example: “Two men stood near an outside freezer door talking; they nodded at Sam as he set down the tub of fish, and he Vincent walked by.”

It should say: “Two men were talking as they stood near the door of an outside freezer; they nodded at Sam as he set down the tub of fish just as Vincent walked by.”

I loved the story and the underlying themes of both family and hope. In a world where people often equate happiness with the accumulation of possessions, it is refreshing to find a book that shuns this ideal and reminds us that we really need very little to be happy. According to Sam’s mother there were only two things that a person needs to achieve true happiness, and those consist of: “Famille. Amour. Une vie.” I agree.

I rate this debut novel as 4 out of 5 stars. 🌟🌟🌟🌟




Jonathan started his writing career as a journalist five years ago for a small outdoor publication in Louisiana. After his first published piece, he was hooked.

Since then, his reporting on outdoor recreation and environmental issues has spanned local newspapers and magazines, and national publications such as Outside and Backpacker.

The inspiration for his debut novel “Between the Levees” came from spending most of his life hunting, fishing and camping in the Atchafalaya Basin not far from his home, as well as his deep appreciation of his Cajun roots.

If there’s one thing Jonathan Olivier loves more than the swamps of Louisiana, it’s being in the mountains. These days, whenever he gets a chance, he can be found backpacking  in the mountains.

The newspaper in his hometown interviewed Jonathan, and through the reading of that article, a fuller picture of the author becomes available. If you are interested in reading the West Side Journal article click HERE.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:







BOOK REVIEW of THE CHIBOK GIRLS by Helon Habila 4 out of 5 Stars


Associate Professor of Creative Writing at George Mason University





Length: 128 PAGES  

Publication Date: DECEMBER 5, 2016

ISBN: 9780997126464

Price: $12.99 USD


My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars    



On April 14, 2014, 276 girls from the Chibok Secondary School in northern Nigeria were kidnapped by Boko Haram, the world’s deadliest terrorist group. Most were never heard from again. Acclaimed Nigerian novelist Helon Habila, who grew up in northern Nigeria, returned to Chibok and gained intimate access to the families of the kidnapped to offer a devastating account of this tragedy that stunned the world. With compassion and deep understanding of historical context, Habila tells the stories of the girls and the anguish of their parents; chronicles the rise of Boko Haram and the Nigerian government’s inept response; and captures the indifference of the media and the international community whose attention has moved on. Employing a fiction writer’s sensibility and a journalist’s curiosity, THE CHIBOK GIRLS provides poignant portraits of everyday Nigerians whose lives have been transformed by extremist forces. Habila illuminates the long history of colonialism–and unmasks cultural and religious dynamics–that gave rise to the conflicts that have ravaged the region to this day.



I am torn as to how to review this book and what rating to give it. The reason for this is that the title; THE CHIBOK GIRLS is misleading. Why do I think it is misleading? Well, if you read the official description you are lead to believe that author Helon Habila has uncovered new information about the kidnapped girls and has maybe even met with some of them therefore providing readers with new information that no one else has been able to uncover. At least, that is what I believed when I began reading this book. He does meet with some of the girls who escaped during the first days of the kidnappings, but these are the same girls whose stories have already been told. After reading the final page I realized that the only new information contained in this book regarding the kidnapped Chibok girls is not about the girls themselves, it is about their families. While I was very interested in the information about the families and how they are handling the knowledge (or lack thereof) of their daughter’s kidnapping, I was also extremely disappointed. I had hoped for more. I had hoped that some new information about the girls had come to light and that maybe there was finally some hope on the horizon for the kidnapped girls and their families.

With that said, this book is exceptionally well written and the author does an outstanding job of describing just who and what Boko Haram is and where they came from. In fact, it is the best book I have ever read on the history of the Boko Haram Terrorist group. Helon Habila has written the history in such a way that readers understand how such a group could possibly gain the number of followers that it has. Readers will also learn the extent of the corruption in the Nigerian government and how and why Nigerian residents have become so completely disillusioned. These parts of the books are utterly fascinating.

I feel that it must be said that I applaud the courageousness of the author to travel to such an unstable and extremely dangerous part of the world in an attempt to keep the story of the kidnapped girls from Chibok from disappearing into obscurity. The story of the author’s travels are also included in this book and readers will find themselves on the edge of their seats and biting their lips in fear and anticipation as the reader faces very real life-and-death situations on his quest for the truth.

I rate this book as 4 out of 5 Stars and highly recommend it to anyone interested in finding out more about Boko Haram or about what life is currently like for those living in Nigeria. I hope that this book will keep the story of the Chibok girls in the media and maybe even led to some new information about where they may be located.

  • I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley




Helon Habila was born in Nigeria and is the author of three novels, Oil on Water, Measuring Time, and Waiting for an Angel. His fiction, poems and short stories have won many honors and awards, including the Commonwealth Prize for Best First Novel (Africa Section), the Virginia Library Foundation’s Fiction Award, and the Windham-Campbell Prize. Habila’s short story, “The Hotel Malogo,” won the Emily Balch Prize. Oil on Water, which deals with environmental pollution in the oil rich Niger Delta, was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers Prize (2011), the Orion Book Award (2012), and the PEN/Open Book Award (2012).

He worked in Lagos as a journalist before moving to England in 2002. He co-edited the British Council’s anthology, New Writing 14 and edited The Granta Book of the African Short Story in 2011. He is currently an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at George Mason University and lives in Virginia with his wife and three children.




5 out of 5 Stars for the Amazing Book – THE BOOK OF THE UNNAMED MIDWIFE by MEG ELISON – THIS IS A MUST READ





Length: 190 PAGES

Publisher: 47 NORTH  

ISBN: 9781503939110  


Publication Date: OCTOBER 11, 2016

Rating: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS  


In almost every post-apocalyptic novel I have ever read (and I have read quite a few,) the author writes about the dark side of human nature that most people predict will take hold if, and when an apocalyptic event strikes our planet. In THE BOOK OF THE UNNAMED MIDWIFE this darkness is once again unleashed, albeit in a very unique and interesting situation. #tbotuh

However, author Meg Elison must be an optimist at heart since her book allows readers to believe that even in the darkest situation there is hope, and even in a world that appears that it just might not be worth saving, there might be people left who are holding onto their humanity with both hands. It is this hope that makes #TBOTUM such a compelling read.

Readers will be taken on a journey along with the main character as she travels on a northerly route from California to wherever she ends up. This journey is not only physical, but is also emotional and mental. From the craving for human companionship to the fear of running into the wrong type of people, readers will find themselves increasingly invested in the midwife’s survival.

Meg Elison has done the near impossible with this book – that is to get readers emotionally invested in the trials and tribulations of a character of whom they do not even know her real name. When asked near the beginning of the book what her name is, the midwife responds by telling the man her name is Karen. “She was not Karen. Karen had died a week ago, still wearing her name tag. He wasn’t going to ask for ID. She decided to be Karen for now.”

A fever followed by intense illness and then death has swept the globe. This pandemic is unlike anything ever experienced in human history. Women had a mortality rate around 99% and the Midwife discovered through her job in the Maternity Ward at a major hospital that no babies survived more than a few minutes after birth. In fact, most were stillborn. Despite the fact that all the marvels of modern medicine were still available, the mothers also died shortly after their infants. The mortality rate was 100% in newborn infants and in the general population, 99 out of 100 women who contracted the fever never recovered. Men were much luckier and therefore the ratio of females to males became skewed.

What happens when something you want is in short supply? You tend to stock up on that commodity and to guard what you have left. Well, this is similar to how men responded to the lack of available women. Once people realized that they were most likely not going to die from the plague, they began to think of what they wanted and needed to survive in the new, lawless, post-apocalyptic world they found themselves in.

I believe that when the constraints of society are removed in such a way that there is little hope of order ever being restored, that many people will allow their baser instincts to overrule the ideals of goodness and basic human decency. Add to that volatile situation a lack of food, a lack of purpose and a lack of consequences for their actions and you have some seriously big problems. Now, top off an already untenable situation with the fact that very few females survived the initial plague and anyone who knows anything at all about human nature will agree that this is a recipe for disaster.

Karen “Went to sleep and the world was dying … woke up and it was dead and gone.” After an intense and terrifying experience Karen is forced to kill a man to save herself from being raped and beaten. It is after that she realizes she needs to hide her femininity if she is to have any chance at long-term survival in this new world. Karen soon realizes that survival was not going to be her only challenge. In fact, it just might be the least of her problems.

I LOVE THIS BOOK! It is exceedingly difficult to surprise me, but THE BOOK OF THE UNNAMED MIDWIFE did exactly that.

The character of “Karen” is not your typical post-apocalyptic female survivor. She is complex in many ways and yet simple in others. She is tough as nails and yet she also craves human companionship (although she would never admit that to anyone). Too many books in this genre stick to gender stereotypes; THE BOOK OF THE UNNAMED MIDWIFE does not. By placing Karen in the role of the main character, author Meg Elison challenges the view that a woman must have a man with her in order to survive and thrive in a post-apocalyptic world.

Not only does this book entertain readers with a fascinating story, but it also points out the unique issues that would face women in a post-apocalyptic world. (Think tampons and birth control.) In a world where woman are almost guaranteed to die in childbirth, especially since hospitals are no longer operational, birth control would be more important than ever before. Karen stocks up on the injections required for months of preventing unwanted pregnancies and makes it her mission to offer it to anyone who wants or needs it. I can almost guarantee that no male novelist has ever written (or could write) anything similar to this book and have it come across as realistic and believable as it does in TBOTUM.

With this book, female Young Adult readers have a new heroine to celebrate and to cheer on. And to make her even more loveable, Karen is a BADASS. She doesn’t take crap from anyone and she is ready and willing to kill to protect herself.

Feminism and the power of women are not the only topics of discussion that come up when reading this book proving that Meg Elison is not afraid of controversy in her writing. This is demonstrated once again when Karen comes across a small religious settlement where residents act as if the apocalypse had not happened and present a good-looking face to the outside world. It is only once she looks deeper that she realizes that the leaders are using religion to rid themselves of unwanted rivals for the attentions of the few female residents. When Karen (dressed as a man and calling herself Rusty) tries to dissuade one man from leaving the safety of the town to travel far away as a missionary because that is what his bishop ordered him to do, she is frustrated when he dismisses her argument that it is too dangerous to travel with only a bible and his faith for protection. She realizes “There is no argument to be had with faith.”

Meg Elison has tackled the topics of women’s rights, gender equality, as well as the blind faith some people place in their religion, so it is only fitting t hat she also uses this book to bring up differing types of sexuality. In fact, our heroine is bi-sexual.

Aside from controversial topics being included in the narrative, this is just a damn good story. I thoroughly enjoyed the plot of this book as well as the numerous twists and turns – many of which I did not see coming. The conclusion is a masterpiece of the unexpected that readers will not see coming.

This book was originally written in 2014 and is being re-released in anticipation of the release in early 2017 of the second book in the series THE BOOK OF ETTA which I have already added to my TBR (To Be Read) list.



* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley.





Meg Elison is the author of THE BOOK OF THE UNNAMED MIDWIFE, a post-apocalyptic feminist speculative novel, Tiptree recommendation, and winner of the 2014 Philip K. Dick Award. The sequel to #TBOTUM is called THE BOOK OF ETTA and will be published in early 2017.

Elison is a high school dropout and a graduate of UC Berkeley. She lives in Oakland, throws themed sing-along parties, and appears at Bay Area literary events whenever someone allows it.

If she could eradicate one societal ill, it would be misogyny.

When she is alone she likes to live deliciously while she writes and breaks hearts.

The three women, dead or alive, she most wants to see square off on Jeopardy are Ada Lovelace, Margaret Atwood, and Queen Elizabeth I.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:









Can’t Wait for this Blog Hop that is coming up in a week – It is all female horror authors

October Frights Blog Hop Coming!

Come join me and a host of other horror and paranormal authors in… 

The October Frights Blog Hop!

Gruesomely ghoulish fun from October 10-15th with paranormal and horror authors. Participants will be posting stories, excerpts, promoting current, upcoming and new releases, and offering prizes and giveaways!

Get the details, rules and sign-up here:

2016 October Frights Blog Hop

What’s Coming here on the blog?

I’m gonna try :

* Some flash fiction

* Drabble Wednesday

* Surprises!

I like AF Stewart’s idea at Are You Afraid of the Dark?

She’s doing: 

  • A Flash Fiction story or two
  • A look at my upcoming poetry book,Horror Haiku and Other Poems
  • An October Frights version of Drabble Wednesday
  • A post on the number 13 in folklore (not as boring as it sounds)
  • A peek at the Brain to Books Cyber Convention and their horror events, tentatively called the Blood Spring
  • Plus, I’ll have some giveaways for my new book and a poster of the book cover

Check out the participants!! See you then! It’s gonna be fun!!

2016 October Frights Blog Hop

October 10-15th Paranormal and Horror Author Blog Tour


  1. Clarissa Johal – Paranormal & Dark Fantasy
  2. greydogtales | Literature, lurchers and life
  3. Leta Hawk: Writing books that go bump in the night
  4. Are You Afraid of the Dark?
  5. author Juli D. Revezzo, paranormal & dark fantasy
  6. Ash Krafton, Speculative Fiction Author
  7. GirlZombieAuthors
  8. The Nickronomicon
  9. Curiosities
  10. Frighten Me! – Frighten Me Blog
  11. The Supernatural World of Nicola C. Matthews
  12. Night to Dawn Magazine & Novels, magazine, vampire
  13. YOURS IN STORYTELLING… | Steve Vernon – Nova Sco
  14. Author Katie M. John & Kate John
  15. A Diamond In The Dark | A Writer’s Blog…
  16. S. M. Boyce
  17. Clay and Susan Griffith
  18. Jim McDonald Author Page | There’s madness to my m
  19. Agent 54 : Snyderman – A Halloween Tale
  20. W.J. Howard-Battling Good vs. Evil in Books
  21. Hello Romance
  22. Madeleine Swann | Bizarro, Horror, Weird Fiction
  23. M’Hablas!
  24. The Merry Ghost Hunter
  25. susanne matthews | Living the Dream
  26. Agent 54 : Zombie Lunch
  27. Agent 54 : Zombies Can’t Catch a Break
  28. Blog – Author Lynn Crandallrandall




by A.B. Bloom
Publication Date: October 31, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance


Preorder: Amazon

They are calling it the End of Days. The world is plunging into darkness, the days growing shorter and the nights longer. Meteor showers are falling to the earth and there are some who would take advantage of the growing darkness.

For sixteen year old Bronte Bell, her problems are closer to home. Since her birthday she’s become weaker, her bones breaking, her hair falling out and plagued with constant migraines. No one can explain why. Until a mysterious new boy arrives and tells her that everything is not as it seems. She is not what she seems.

Drawn into a war that divides the sky, Bronte is torn between her desire to save the world and her growing connection with Nick. But she will have to let go of reality as she knows it, if she is to accept her role in destiny before the Hunter, who has been tracking her since birth, finds and destroys any chance she has of making the choice which is her birthright to make.

Her destiny will change everything . . .


About A. B. Bloom

Anna Bloom is a contemporary romance writer who writes about life as it happens. Combining a busy schedule of looking after two small children whilst working in a local school and completing The Uni Files series. Anna’s main aim in life is to create the perfect book which makes a reader laugh and cry at the same time, hopefully causing a convulsive (impossible to ignore) donkey noise. It’s a work in progress! Anna also spends a lot of time imagining kissing hot guys – all in the name of her art.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

WIN a Signed Paperback – International, Swag Pack + $10 Amazon Gift Card

Click on the link below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


GERTRUDE & TOBY MEET THE WOLF by Shari Tharp – A beautifully illustrated and wonderfully written book for ages 6-8 – COMING SOON






Illustrator: JIM HEATH


Target Readership: AGES 6 to 8

Number of Pages: 40 PAGES = 950 WORDS 

ISBN (Hardcover): 9780996967976           Price: $16.99

ISBN (Softcover): 9781945033001              Price: $7.99

ISBN (eBook): 999781945032                      Price: $4.99  

Release Date (Hardcover): December 15, 2016

Release Date (Softcover & eBook): January 5, 2017  


My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars    




“Gertrude and Toby are best friends and live at McFarland Farms. Every Friday when Farmer Sam goes shopping in town, Gertrude and Toby sneak off the farm for a fun adventure.”

This is the third book in the Gertrude and Toby Fairy-Tale Adventure Series and the first book that I have read. It is NOT necessary to have read the first book to enjoy the third. Each title works as a stand-alone story.

Gertrude is a goat and Toby is a tortoise. They seem to make an unlikely pair, but they work perfectly in the story. In each book the pair go on an adventure and they run into characters from other fairy tales.

At first I was skeptical that this concept would come across as fresh and unique, but it definitely does. I loved the fact that the pair head out to go fishing at Trout Lake and they decide that whoever catches the most fish will be the one to choose what adventure they will embark upon.

As they are walking a boy runs by on a few separate occasions yelling that a wolf is close by (from the fairy tale “The Boy Who Cried Wolf) and later in the story when a wolf actually does appear, readers meet the pigs from the fairy tale “The Three Little Pigs.”

The illustrations are simply gorgeous and a treat for the eye.

Parents (or Grandparents) will enjoy reading this story to their children just as much as the children will enjoy listening to the tale of the two best friends. I highly recommend this truly wonderful book and I believe that it will make a terrific Christmas gift. Since this book is due to be released in hardcover ten days before Christmas, the timing is perfect.

I rate this book as 5 out of 5 Stars and I look forward to reading the first two books in the series as well.

I received a free copy of this book from the Publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.






Shari Tharp is a graduate of San Diego State University and a former teacher. She currently lives in Southern California with her husband and son. Her debut book, GERTRUDE AND TOBY’S FRIDAY ADVENTURE, won a silver medal IPPY award for Best Illustrated Ebook.

The next two books in the series, GERTRUDE AND TOBY SAVE THE GINGERBREAD MAN and GERTRUDE AND TOBY MEET THE WOLF, are scheduled to be released in late 2016.

In addition to writing, Shari enjoys playing chess, hiking, biking, and reading (of course!).

To learn more about the author visit the following links:











Gertrude and Toby’s Friday Adventure

Wins IPPY Silver Medal Award—Best Children’s Illustrated E-book