THE DENOUNCED is the beginning of a new YA Dystopian Trilogy that is sure to enthrall readers of all ages.

Title: THE DENOUNCED – A GREY SUN

Series: THE DENOUNCED – BOOK ONE

Author: S.J. SHERWOOD

Genre: YOUNG ADULT FICTION, DYSTOPIAN FICTION, SCIENCE FICTION

Publisher: SELF-PUBLISHED – To find out why this author chose to self-publish, read his explanation HERE.

Type of Book: EBOOK

Received From: NETGALLEY

Release Date: NOVEMBER 16, 2017

ISBN: 978-1-9997929-0-9

Rating: 4 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐⭐⭐⭐

DESCRIPTION:

In a future divided into Secular and Non-Secular Quadrants, a crime punishable by death is to cross Quadrants and become a Denounced.

When sixteen-year-old Ned is wrongly convicted and kidnapped to a secret location, he meets ninety Denounced, and a terrifying truth begins to unfold — one that will change the world forever.

Forced to lead a Pod of five, Ned begins to realise thousands of lives could depend upon him. A survivor by nature, he now has to face his past, confront his destiny, and fight a System that has never lost.

MY REVIEW:

“In less than an hour my life will end.”

Thus begins THE GREY SUN, the first book in THE DENOUNCED TRILOGY.

I dare anyone to read that opening line and not be drawn into this book.

Who is this person that will die within an hour? What is happening? How does the person know he or she is going to die? Is this person a male or a female? How old are they? What is the reason they are going to die? Are they sick? How are they going to die? Is it a natural death? Is it murder? Who is going to kill him/her? Why? How does he/she know they are going to die? How do they know when they are going to die?

All these questions flash through the readers mind, and all of them (and more) are prompted from a sentence containing a mere nine words.

As we read a bit further, some of our questions begin to be answered, but each answer only spawns more questions, piques more curiosity and sucks the reader further into the story. The ability to achieve this is the mark of a talented author.

I love books that draw my attention immediately, and more importantly, are able to maintain my attention page after page. THE GREY SUN does exactly that.

It is difficult to believe that this is author S.J. Sherwood’s first ever attempt at writing Young Adult Fiction. He writes with the perfect voice for young adult audiences. In fact, if you were unaware of the above fact, you would think he has been writing fiction for teens for years.

Sixteen year old Ned is a character that will appeal to both teenage boys and teen girls. The guys will look up to him as a smart, tough protagonist that they would want to be friends with, young women will also look up to him, but they will also want him to be their new book-boyfriend.

How can a normal, red-blooded young woman not want to soothe Ned’s tortured soul and show him that he doesn’t need to be alone in the world any more? Add to that the fact that he would make an awesome protector and is both intelligent and resourceful, and you have the perfect recipe for a YA heartthrob.

Don’t let what I wrote above to take anything away from the story itself. Yes, Ned is “hot,” but that is only one tiny part of this tale.

The Dystopian world that S.J. Sherwood has imagined is revealed in small snippets and readers learn about Ned’s world as he learns about it. Although there is a resolution at the end of this book, there are also many unanswered questions which I am excited to find out the answers to. For some reason I do not feel cheated, even though I did not receive all the answers. Leaving questions unanswered without angering your readers is a difficult task to achieve, but this author somehow makes it seem easy.

I have read literally hundreds of Dystopian novels, for both Young Adult and Adult readers and this reality that S.J. Sherwood has created is one I will not forget. I think that part of the reason why I feel this way is because there is still so much to learn about Ned’s world. The possibilities are endless. I rate this book as 4 out of 5 Stars. ⭐⭐⭐⭐

If you enjoyed A GREY SUN – BOOK ONE of the DENOUNCED SERIES, you need to add SHIFTING HORIZONS to your watch list as it is the soon-to-be-released as the second thrilling instalment of this wickedly interesting Young Adult Dystopian series.

*** Thank you to NETGALLEY for providing me with a free copy of this book.***

QUOTES:

“It’s dangerous to let yourself dream when you’re in the System.”

“People will either come to you or they don’t, and if they don’t, you generally don’t want them anyway.”

“… I have to do something that I’m not good at, that I think none of us are good at, which is to work together. Be a team.”

“In the few days of being here, we’ve already become brainwashed … You start to become what they impose upon you. I have a natural urge to rebel against it … I ache so badly to be free.”

“Freedom is something you don’t dare talk about when you’re in the System.”

ABOUT THE REST OF THE DENOUNCED TRILOGY:

Book Two will be titled SHIFTING HORIZONS.

Pod Fifteen has escaped to an unknown Quadrant. Who do they trust and where do they go next?

If the rumours are true, thousands of orphans are heading toward Ilse’s trap. If Ned and the rest of Pod Fifteen are to save the orphans, they would need to return home and fight a System that wants Ned dead.

With time working against them and tough decisions to be made, hard-fought friendships will be put to the test. Loyalties will be cut to the bone. Character flaws will be further exposed.

What will Ned and Pod Fifteen ultimately do?

Find out in the next explosive instalment of The Denounced, available in the first half of 2018 with the final instalment, Book 3, CREAKING DAWN, set for later in the year.

If you would like a sneak preview, as well as additional information about the release dates, please sign-up for The Denounced Newsletter HERE.

ABOUT AUTHOR S.J. SHERWOOD:

S.J. Sherwood grew up in a small town in rural England and spent most of his youth dreaming of escaping to the bright lights of a metropolis.

His dream came true in the form of winning a Scholarship to Drama School. He was an actor for a short time. At various times in his life, he was a construction worker, a waiter, and an ice-cream man to name a few. He then went back to school and entered the corporate world.

The one constant in his life has been a passion for storytelling.

When he is not writing and spending time with those he loves, you’ll find him in a wetsuit, splashing in the sea, where he will be dreaming up his next story. He currently lives in London, England.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

GOODREADS

INSTAGRAM

FACEBOOK

AMAZON


Advertisements

CONCENTRATION CAMPS OF CANADA by Baron Alexander Deschauer receives 5 Stars for importance, 4 Stars for Content.

Title: CONCENTRATION CAMPS OF CANADA

Author: BARON ALEXANDER DESCHAUER

Publisher: FRIESEN PRESS

Genre:  FICTION, YOUNG ADULT FICTION, MULTICULTURAL, INDIGENOUS PEOPLES 

Release Date:  JUNE 12, 2017

From 1918 to the 1960s, Migizi survives the abuses of residential schools and tries to live life as a Canadian. He joins the army and becomes a war hero only to return to a country that barely tolerates his existence. His bravery and perseverance is unwavering until he is forced to face his greatest fears. Will he survive his own demons and memories? Would any of us?.

This is the story of a young boy growing up in that world, determined to be a man in a system that only saw him as an Indian.

MY REVIEW:   

Disturbing. Heart-Breaking. Horrifying.  Sickening. Riveting.

These are just some of the words that come to mind after reading Baron Alexander Deschauer’s CONCENTRATION CAMPS OF CANADA.

Although this is a fictional story, it is based on fact. That is what makes it so disturbing.

BUT, it is for exactly for that reason that every Canadian, and indeed, every North American, needs to read this book.

No longer should the sins of the past be allowed to stay hidden. Everyone needs to know just what it was that Native Canadians were forced to endure at the hands of the Church and the Canadian government.

Remember as you read this review that this book may be fiction, but it is based on FACT.

Migizi was taken away forcefully from his parents and placed in a residential school. Doesn’t sound too bad right?

WRONG!

At that school he quickly lost his entire world. This sounds like a dramatic statement, but it actually does not do justice to what Migizi had to endure.

First, he was in a strange, cold place where he knew no one. There he was to take classes and live. On his first day of school they took away his name. They named him “David” and if he or anyone else referred to him by his “heathen” name, they would be punished. If he did not answer to his new name fast enough, he would be punished. If he spoke too loudly, or too quietly … you guessed it; he would be punished.

In case you missed what I was trying to say, Migizi experienced mental and physical abuse and unfortunately he, like so many “real” aboriginal people, was also forced to endure sexual abuse at the hands of those who had the nerve to call themselves “God’s Emissaries.”

After finally aging out of the residential school system, “David” joined the army. His old Indian name was by that stage in his life, a long-forgotten memory.

In the army he distinguished himself and was labeled a war hero. Because of this, you would think that upon his arrival back to Canada (the country he had fought so bravely for) his service and sacrifice would have placed him on equal footing with the rest of the returning soldiers … I am sad to say that you would be wrong.

When he came home to Canada after the war, his return was largely ignored while his white comrades-in-arms were celebrated and congratulated for their service.

David was once again seen as just another dirty Indian. The shock he felt must have been emotionally crippling.

This book is IMPORTANT. People who might not read a book of non-fiction might be willing to read this one. It is important because it brings awareness and I fully believe that knowledge is power.

I rate this book as 4 out of 5 Stars for story and content, but 5 out of 5 Stars for importance. 🌟🌟🌟🌟

But, since this is supposed to be a book review and not a rant on my personal beliefs, I will stick to the 4 out of 5 rating. ⭐⭐⭐⭐. 



SAVING IT BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY

Saving It by Monica Murphy

Publication Date: November 6, 2017

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Crush Eden: Josh Evans and I have been best friends forever. He knows all my secrets, and I know all of his. So when he randomly asks me to help him lose his virginity, I sort of flip out. That’s a question that sends your mind to places you’ve seriously never considered before. Like, you know. Having sex. With your best friend. Except Josh doesn’t want to have sex with me—he wants me to help him find a girl. A nice girl who’s funny and smart and cute. Except he already knows a girl just like that…

Josh: Eden Sumner is my best friend. So of course she’d be the person to help me find my perfect match, so I can drop my V card before I head off to college. Except the more we search, the more I realize that maybe the right girl has been by my side all along. I don’t need Eden’s help in finding me a girl to love. I’m pretty sure I’m already in love with Eden. But now she thinks I’m only after one thing…with anyone but her.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book is what happens when American Pie meets Friends with Benefits. It contains two best friends, plenty of angst, and lots and lots of sex talk. Reading this might have you looking at your best friend in a different light!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Monica Murphy is the New York Times, USA Today and #1 international bestselling author of the One Week Girlfriend series, the Billionaire Bachelors and The Rules series. Her books have been translated in almost a dozen languages and has sold over one million copies worldwide. She is a traditionally published author with Bantam/Random House and Harper Collins/Avon, as well as an independently published author. She writes new adult, young adult and contemporary romance. She is also USA Today bestselling romance author Karen Erickson. She is a wife and a mother of three who lives with her family in central California on fourteen acres in the middle of nowhere, along with their one dog and too many cats. A self-confessed workaholic, when she’s not writing, she’s reading or hanging out with her husband and kids. She’s a firm believer in happy endings, though she will admit to putting her characters through many angst-filled moments before they finally get that hard won HEA.

WebsiteTwitterFacebookInstagramPinterestSnapchatGoodreads

Link to Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36302599-saving-it

Purchase Links:

Amazon | Amazon Australia | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

Link to Tour Schedule:

http://www.chapter-by-chapter.com/tour-schedule-saving-it-by-monica-murphy/

Giveaway Details:

  • A Signed copy of Saving It. (US only)

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb554951195/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”1cb554951195″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_tauaxpdq”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

ESME’S WISH is an astonishinly brilliant new Young Adult book. 5 Enthusiastic Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Title: ESME’S WISH

Series: “ESME” SERIES: BOOK ONE

Author: ELIZABETH FOSTER

Genre: YOUNG ADULT FICTION, FANTASY

Length: 252 PAGES

Publisher: ODYSSEY BOOKS

Type of Book: EBOOK

Received From: THE AUTHOR

Release Date: OCTOBER 30, 2017

ISBN: 9781925652246

Rating: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

DESCRIPTION:

When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father’s wedding, her protest is dismissed as the actions of a stubborn, selfish teenager. Everyone else has accepted the loss of Esme’s mother – so why can’t she?

But Esme is suspicious. She is sure that others are covering up the real reason for her mother’s disappearance – that ‘lost at sea’ is code for something more terrible, something she has a right to know.

After Esme is accidentally swept into the enchanted world of Aeolia, the truth begins to unfold. Esme soon discovers that her mother, Ariane – a talented painter of myths and legends – once led a secret second life in the crumbling canal city of Esperance. The more Esme discovers about Ariane, the more she questions whether she really knew her mother at all…

Esme’s Wish, a fantasy with a mystery at its heart, leads the reader into a beguiling world to which they’ll want to return again and again.

BOOK TRAILER:

MY REVIEW:

This is a tale that is utterly enchanting and totally consuming. I found myself even dreaming about the wonderous world of Aeolia created by the extremely talented Elizabeth Foster. This is something that rarely happens to me. In fact, I can count the number of times it has happened to me on a single hand.

To put that into perspective, only books such as R.R. Tolkien’s THE HOBBIT, THE LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy and the HARRY POTTER series have had this effect on me. Am I saying that ESME’S WISH is on par with these genre-defining tales? Well, I won’t go quite that far yet, but only because this is only BOOK ONE. Ask me again once I have had the pleasure of reading the entire series.

Although this book is targeted at the Young Adult audience, as was the Harry Potter series, this book also holds incredible appeal for adult readers as well.

Esme is swept from a world in which her father remarries a woman she despises, giving up all hope after seven years that his wife will ever return. He, and everyone else, including Esme, believe that her mother is dead. She thinks that the reason she has been told that her mother was lost at sea is because they are hiding something much more sinister. Being a typical fifteen year old, she sets off to visit the last place her mother was seen alive – hoping for clues as to what really happened to her.

Instead of discovering a secret clue, she is swept into the sea and pulled through some sort of portal into the wonderous world of Aeolia. This reminds me of Harry Potter leaving London by going to platform nine and three quarters.

Who among us has not thought of somehow going to a different world? This book delivers on that fantasy and Elizabeth Foster’s world building is spot on. The people of this fantasy world all have some sort of magical gift which manifests in young adulthood. I don’t want to give anymore away, but the plot is terrific and readers will be drawn in and continually surprised by the mystery of what happened to Esme’s mother.

I rate this book as 5 out of 5 Stars. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

QUOTE:

Esme “… had become entangled in matters… with forces far beyond [her] understanding – and it seemed there was no right way forward.”

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

ELIZABETH FOSTER was born in Brisbane, Australia. She read avidly as a child, but only discovered the joys of writing some years ago, when reading to her own kids reminded her of how much she missed getting lost in other worlds.

Once she started writing, she never looked back. She is at her happiest when immersed in her stories and plotting new conflicts and adventures for her characters.

Elizabeth now lives in Sydney, Australia where she can be found scribbling in cafés, indulging her love of both words and coffee.

Her first novel, Esme’s Wish, a fantasy-mystery for younger teens, was released by Odyssey Books on October 30, 2017. Esme’s Gift, the second in the trilogy will follow in late 2018.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

GOODREADS

TWITTER

FACEBOOK

INSTAGRAM

YOUTUBE

AMAZON

CHAPTERS

PUBLISHER’S WEBSITE

KOBO: You can read the first chapter HERE.

PUBLISHER OF ESME’S WISH:

ODYSSEY BOOKS is an Australian Independent publishing house. It was founded only eight years ago, in 2009 by Michelle Lovi.

They only publish 12 to 18 books per year. Odyssey Books produces quality literary and genre fiction, as well as memoirs and creative non-fiction.

They live for the adventures that books provide and are not afraid to take risks with new writers and new ideas.

To learn more about this Publisher, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

TWITTER

FACEBOOK

INSTAGRAM

PINTEREST

YOUTUBE

THE BEDTIMEASNAURUS by Mike Bayliss is one of the best children’s books I have read in a LONG time. 5 Stars and a BLOG TOUR

Title: THE BEDTIMEASNAURUS

Author: MIKE BAYLISS

Illustrator: MEGAN EGAN

Genre: CHILDREN’S FICTION

Length: 26 LARGE PAGES

ISBN: 978-1-9998572-0-2

Produced By: IMAGINATE CREATIVE LTD

Printed By: LEMON PRESS

Release Date: November 14, 2017

Buy this amazing children’s book online at AMAZON US

DESCRIPTION:

A charming collection of gorgeously illustrated poems to encourage fun and bedtime bonding between parents and their children.

The bright pink flamingoasaurus spends its day standing on one leg looking for something to eat.

The round and delicious tomotoasaurus sings a tune while soaking up the sun.

These are just two of the imaginative and amusing dinosaurs dreamed up in The Bedtimeasnaurus, the sometimes naughty and always hilarious poetry collection for children by Mike Bayliss.

Developing the idea for over thirty years while working on other projects , Bayliss was encouraged to publish his collection after being diagnosed with stage IV non – Hodgkin lymphoma in April 2017, using his work as a positive outlet for his energy as he worked to battle the illness.

Complimented by charming illustrations, opportunities for kids to draw their own dinosaur creations and simple quizzes on each of the characters, The Bedtimeasnaurus not only provides an entertaining read for young children before they go to sleep but also offers a valuable chance for parents to connect and engage.

Purchase from Amazon UK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Mike Bayliss was born in Walsaill West Midland, UK, Bayliss is an entrepreneur that owns companies in several industries including building supply and property development. He also owns Bespoke Brewery, which opened in 2012 and has since won a number of awards for its craft beer. He lives with his wife and three children in Forest Dean, UK. This is his first book.

Check it out on Facebook

ABOUT THE ILLUSTRATOR:

(Copied from her website)

DESIGNER, ILLUSTRATOR AND PAINTBRUSH-WIELDING VANDAL.

Hi there! My name is Megan Egan, and I’m a Brummie who just loves to create!

Creative Soul and Daydreamer, forged at Imaginate Creative in Leamington Spa, evolving into an Art Director at School of Communication Arts 2.0 in London.

I like drawing, pens, cats, big cities, drum & bass, spray paint, trainers, wine, weird clothes, clouds, graffiti, stickers, books, touchy-feely things, seals, cider, nice packaging, funky lights, bright orange, bare brick walls, scarves, abandoned buildings, olives, colouring in, bones, big windows, untouched snow, scribbling, pizza, fresh bedsheets, the smell of petrol, coffee… and I just bloody LOVE neon!

To learn more about this illustrator visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

FACEBOOK.

TWITTER

INSTAGRAM

LINKEDIN

This blog tour was organized by RACHEL’S RANDOM RESOURCES

PRIMROSE AND BRIMSTONE BLOG TOUR – Be sure to check out this 5 Star book of Horror stories guaranteed to scare the heck out of you!!!

Title: PRIMROSE AND BRIMSTONE  
Author: JASON MUELLER

Genre: FICTION, HORROR

Length: 302 PAGES

Publisher: DARK SERPENT

Type of Book: EBOOK

Received From: RAVENSWOOD   

Release Date: OCTOBER 2017 

ISBN: 978-1974683215  



DESCRIPTION: 
 

Primrose and Brimstone is an anthology of twenty-four stories including eight new stories with the addition of the sixteen stories from previous releases Darkness Apart and Thoughts of Hell. These stories range from the monsters under your bed to the monsters who live next door. Each story is a little piece of something you aren’t sure exists, but worry that it just might be out there or is it all in our heads. 

It’s probably just in your head. Take a walk with me through the Primrose and Brimstone.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

Jason Mueller’s closest friends call him Jake. As he is mostly a horror and supernatural writer. It is yet to be seen if you want to get close to him or not! He bites.

Jason studied for the ministry for several years before life took a giant swing at him, forcing him to change courses a bit. He’s read the Bible, both Old and New Testaments more times than you would believe. But don’t worry he’s no choir boy, and his writing will take you closer to hell then you ever thought you could go without feeling the flames.

Jason escaped from Illinois when he was just about to enter his 20s and hasn’t looked back. He currently resides in Indiana and has four children who are his entire world – two boys and twin girls.

Jason is currently working on various projects and hopes to keep you scared to go to sleep for years to come.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:

GOODREADS   
TWITTER    
FACEBOOK      

AMAZON     
  

BUY LINKS

AMAZON US 

AMAZON UK     

AMAZON CA       

BARNES & NOBLE     

CREATESPACE    

PAPERBACK    


This Blog Tour was brought to you by:

 RAVENSWOOD PUBLISHING      

WIDE AWAKE ASLEEP BLOG TOUR

WIDE AWAKE ASLEEP 

Can you really be on the WRONG path in life?

No one knew she was driving on that stretch of road. No one saw her car leave the highway and crash into a watery ditch. No one heard the car’s windscreen smash or saw the tree branch come through to impale her to her seat. No one heard her screams.

Julie Compton’s life should have come to an end that day, but instead, that moment was the beginning of her new life as she wakes, unharmed, back in 1972 and primed to relive her traumatic childhood all over again. One flaw. She’s in the body of a stranger.

Journey back to the 70s and 80s England where Julie is forced to jump through the eras, occupying and controlling other people’s bodies she knew as a child. She must work out which destiny path was the wrong one all while wondering if her body, back in 2016, was dying in her car.

With each momentous change, her memories transform and she realises she’s not only changing her future but of those around her. She’s finally ‘living’ but does that mean she must die?  

Purchase Links:

Amazon.comhttps://www.amazon.com/Wide-Awake-Asleep-Travel-Romance-ebook/dp/B01N2QW3VX/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Amazon UKhttps://www.amazon.co.uk/Wide-Awake-Asleep-Travel-Romance-ebook/dp/B01N2QW3VX/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8


Author Bio – 

Louise Wise is a British writer and has been weaving stories all her life—and for many years, she was a ‘closet writer’ with a cupboard is full of ageing manuscripts depicting fantastical romantic adventures!

Most of her books have an element of romance, but tend to cross over into other genres, giving them a unique edge.

Her debut novel is the best-selling sci-fi romance EDEN, which was followed by its sequel HUNTED in 2013.

A PROPER CHARLIE is a romantic comedy written purely for the chick lit market, but then she decided to unite her love of all things supernatural with romance and OH NO, I’VE FALLEN IN LOVE and WIDE AWAKE ASLEEP came along.

Her other works include SCRUFFY TRAINERS (a collection of short stories with a twist). She has written numerous short stories for women’s magazines including Women’s Own and Take a Break.

She loves hearing from her readers – the good, the bad and the ugly stuff they want to share!

Social Media Links –

Website: http://louisewise.website

Books: http://amzn.to/1Ne7KX0

Twitter: https://twitter.com/louise_wise

GOODNIGHT HOCKEY FANS by Canadian ANDREW LARSEN is a wonderful children’s book – 4 Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟 

Title: GOODNIGHT, HOCKEY FANS 

Author: ANDREW LARSEN    

Genre: CHILDREN’S FICTION

Length: 32 PAGES

Publisher: KIDS CAN PRESS    
Type of Book: EBOOK

Received From: NETGALLEY       

Release Date: OCTOBER 3, 2017  

ISBN: 9781771381055

Price: $18.99 CDN – HARDCOVER

Rating: 4 OUT OF 5 STARS 🌟🌟🌟🌟 
DESCRIPTION:  

A young boy doesn’t want to go to bed. The hockey game is on! “What if I can’t fall asleep?” the boy says. “Don’t worry,” says his dad. “You will.” After his parents have tucked him in and turned out the light, he shines a flashlight on his prized hockey possessions around his room: the posters of his favorite players, the pennant for his favorite team, the puck. Then he decides to listen to the game on his bedside radio, which he places under his pillow. With the familiar drone of the announcer’s voice for company, the boy drifts off to sleep. He dreams he has joined his favorite team on the ice — where he scores the winning goal! And the boy smiles as the announcer exclaims, “What a play! What a goal! What a game!” Award-winning author Andrew Larsen’s simple yet evocative story sets just the right tone for the youngest children, who can relate to the boy’s disappointment about missing the exciting nighttime game and his fears that he won’t be able to fall asleep. Jacqui Lee’s illustrations in soothing greens and blues are done in a wonderful blend of nostalgic and contemporary styles that suit the story’s timelessness. This book provides all of the appeal of the perfect bedtime story: the reassurance of caring parents tucking the boy in and then coming back later to check on him, the bedtime routine, the atmospheric winter night outside while it’s cozy and snug inside, and the promise of dreams come true.   

REVIEW

I have to admit that I have a positive bias toward children’s books that are about hockey. As a proud Canadian who also happens to have male children, hockey was a huge part of our lives for many years.

Anyway, with that said, I enjoyed both the story and the illustrations in this book. I think that kids can never have enough hockey titles in their library. I rate this book as 4 out of 5 Stars. 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a free e-copy of this book. 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

Andrew Larsen is the acclaimed author of such books as Goodnight, Hockey Fans, A Squiggly Story, The Not-So-Faraway Adventure, In the Tree House and The Imaginary Garden. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE  

GOODREADS 

TWITTER     

FACEBOOK        

AMAZON  

CHAPTERS  


PUBLISHER’S WEBSITE 


ABOUT THE ILLUSTRATOR:

JACQUI LEE is a graphic designer and the illustrator of I Am Josephine (And I Am a Living Thing), Taffy Time and the Murilla Gorilla series for young readers. Jacqui currently lives in London, England.

To learn more about this Illustrator, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE  

TWITTER  

TUMBLR

INSTAGRAM 

AMAZON  


AWARDS

– 2014 Canadian Toy Testing Council Recommended Read Murilla Gorilla: Jungle Detective
– 2013 Ontario Library Association Best Bets for Children Murilla Gorilla: Jungle Detective
– 2012 Applied Arts Illustration Awards The 400 Blows
– 2011 Society of Illustrators Student Scholarship Competition Roots General Store (In Show)
– 2011 Applied Arts Student Awards The Jules Verne Collection
– 2011 Applied Arts Student Awards The Jelly Bean
– 2011 Applied Arts Student Awards The Sandwich with Britny Samuelson
– 2011 Applied Arts Student Awards The Story of Joseph-Armand Bombardier


EXHIBITIONS

– 2014 It’s A Jungle Out There ?! The Ledge Gallery, Calgary, AB
– 2012 On The Move Collage Collage, Vancouver, BC
– 2012 SHAPE JAM (with Jenn Kitagawa & Co), Hashtag Gallery, Toronto, ON
– 2011 The Society of Illustrators Student Scholarship Competition Exhibit – Museum of American Illustration, New York, NY

Visit Jacqui’s page on WORKING, NOT WORKING 

ABOUT THE PUBLISHER: 

Kids Can Press is the largest Canadian-owned children’s publisher. Its catalogue includes an award-winning list of over 600 picture books, nonfiction and fiction titles for young readers, including the worldwide bestselling Franklin the Turtle, Scaredy Squirrel and CitizenKid series.

To learn more about this Publisher, visit the following links:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE 

TWITTER    

FACEBOOK      

INSTAGRAM     

PINTEREST   

YOUTUBE  
  

BACKBONE: Living With Chronic Pain Without Turning Into One by Best-Selling Author KAREN DUFFY hits shelves on November 7th.

Title: BACKBONE: LIVING WITH CHRONIC PAIN WITHOUT TURNING INTO ONE   

Author: KAREN DUFFY  

Genre: NON-FICTION, CHRONIC PAIN 

Length: 252 PAGES 

Publisher: ARCADE PUBLISHING an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing     

Type of Book: EBOOK 

Received From: NETGALLEY 

Release Date: NOVEMBER 7, 2017

ISBN: 9781628727951

Price: $22.99 USD 

Rating: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


DESCRIPTION
:

AN INSPIRATIONAL, PRACTICAL, AND FUNNY GUIDE FOR EVERYONE LIVING WITH CHRONIC PAIN.

“My friend Karen Duffy, who lives with unimaginable pain, has taught me so much; that my 
complaints are the most ridiculous in the world.”     George Clooney

Over one-third of the United States population—nearly one hundred million Americans—is currently living with chronic pain, while another 133 million Americans live with some form of chronic illness. Over half of the United States population suffers from these invisible illnesses where their symptoms are not always obvious to the casual observer. Among them is Karen Duffy, New York Times–bestselling author, former MTV DJ, Revlon model, and actress: she suffers from sarcoidosis, a disorder that causes the growth of inflammatory cells on different organs of the body. In her case, her sarcoidosis is located in her brain, causing her unimaginable pain. 

For two decades, Duffy has managed to live a full life, despite living in a state of constant pain. 

In BACKBONE, a powerful, inspirational, funny, and important manual for surviving pain, Duffy draws on her experience as a patient advocate, trained recreational therapist, and hospice chaplain to illuminate gratifying methods people can use to cope with chronic pain. 

Addressing a country ravaged by both chronic pain and opioid addiction, BACKBONE offers a salve of self-sufficiency, spunk, and perseverance. 

BACKBONE is for the massive population of sufferers who are eager to be understood and helped and sends the message that despite the pain, there is a way to have a good life. 

MY REVIEW

In her introduction, author Karen Duffy states; “When I first got sick, I thought the doctors would figure it out and I’d go back to my life the way it was before. It didn’t turn out that way…I never imagined that the pain was going to last this long, that it would be endless, and that I’d have to figure out how to deal with it for the rest of my life.” I can completely relate to her and to this statement, it is exactly how I feel. Our diseases may be different, but chronic pain is something that we share (unfortunately). I felt EXACTLY the same way Karen did when I was diagnosed. 

We are very spoiled as a society, especially here in Canada. When a person gets sick or is injured, they go to the doctor or the hospital where tests are completed, a diagnosis is made, a treatment plan and/or presciption is handed out, and they get better. With chronic pain there is no cure, and treatment consists of little more than prescriptions for pain medication which helps with the symptoms, but does absolutely nothing to fix the underlying condition.

 To those who have never had to deal with pain that never stops, I say be thankful. To those who think that chronic pain sufferers are all liars and frauds, I say that I would trade just about anything to be lying about the pain I endure on a daily basis.

Karen says; “The minutia of daily life are more taxing when you have the stress of a chronic condition, and I often need to regulate my pain medication around [my son’s] hockey schedule.” Thankfully my sons are older now, but I distinctly remember doing the same thing. In fact, currently I have to wake up two hours before leaving for work so that I have one hour for the pain meds to kick in and one hour to actually spend getting ready. Reading that I am not alone in this is strangely yet incredibly helpful.

I am not someone who typically reads self-help books. This book is more of a memoir (laced with humor,) rather than a self-help book, yet it helps to feel that there are people out there who understand what my daily struggles are. I guess the saying that “misery loves company” must be true. Just kidding.

Karen offers up advice in a non-standard way. She does not claim to be an expert on chronic pain. Rather, her writing comes across more like a series of conversations with a friend over coffee or more likely a glass of wine. This is why her tips seem so genuine. They are things that have helped her to manage her pain.

Karen Duffy’s writing comes across as coming from her heart. She offers anecdotes from her own life as well as offering up quotes from experts in various fields.

I have read several books on chronic pain and I can honestly say that this book was the easiest to read and the most realistic. 

Karen Duffy does NOT promise to know how to cure chronic pain, she simply informs readers of what has worked for her to help her live with it, and suggests that what has helped her may also help others.     

She also includes modern, up-to-date links to helpful websites for those seeking more information about specific issues. 

I recommend this book to anyone suffering from chronic pain as well as family members and caregivers. I rate this memoir as 5 out of 5 Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 

**Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book.**  

QUOTES 

As I read through this book I ran across so many quotes that I wanted to remember that I actually started keeping a list. 

Some of the quotes are funny, some I highlighted because they hit close to home and were so similar to my own life, and some I kept for no reason other than they struck a xhord with me somehow. I will leave it to your imagination to decide which quote falls into each category. 

“Chronic pain is like serving a life sentence. It’s punishment for a crime you didn’t commit.”

“… I look a lot better in person than I do on paper.”


“I take strong opiates to tamp down the burning, biting, sharp sensations. Before the morphine takes effect, it feels like a donkey wearing hockey skates is kicking me in the neck. After the medication, it feels like the jackass put skate guards on, but he’s still kicking.” 

When writing about her son playing hockey she wrote the following: 

For example, would it surprise you that the first nut cup (also known as a testicular guard) ever sported in a hockey game was worn in 1873? That the first helmet worn in the NHL was in 1973? That it took a full one hundred years for hockey players to consider protecting their brains was as important as protecting their down below.” 

“…the sinister vapors emanating from a hockey bag would flatten most people. It’s like getting sucker-punched in the face by an invisible roundhouse of adolescent B.O.” 
“… family dinners are a dim memory like dial telephones and eighteen-hour girdles…” 

“When things are easy, you miss the chance to learn how tough you are.”

“… life is going to give you some hits and you have to get up and keep going.”    

“If you don’t take care of your body, where are you going to live?”


“The ability to walk without pain is a gift that we don’t have anymore. Being able to walk with pain and not give up is a superpower.”


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

KAREN DUFFY – Bio partially obtained  from Hollywood.com 
  

Witty, alluring performer whose offbeat charm and amiability landed her a gig as an MTV VJ. Duffy’s (aka “Duff” on-air) less-than-serious approach to her job quickly made her a favorite to viewers. Unlike many of her predecessors who quickly fell into obscurity, she diversified into commercials and feature appearances.

 She made her feature debut playing a “Crack Den Girl” in the Christopher Walken actioner “McBain” (1991). Her subsequent feature credits include small roles in Spike Lee’s “Malcolm X” (1991), “Who’s the Man” (1993)–which also featured such MTV luminaries as Dennis Leary and Ed Lover–and “Reality Bites” (1994) in a cameo spoofing MTV’s “The Real World.” Duffy made her first substantial feature performance as a woman reminiscent of Mrs. Robinson (“The Graduate”) in the Disney comedy “Blank Check” (1994).

Karen “Duff” Lambros is an American model, actress, and author. Diagnosed with neurosarcoidosis in 1995, she has become an outspoken advocate for sarcoidosis patients and those who suffer from chronic pain. Her positive approach to coping with sarcoidosis is highlighted in her autobiography, Model Patient: My Life as an Incurable Wise-Ass. The Foundation for Sarcoidosis Research is proud to have Duff as a board member and the Board Chair to the Patient Ambassador Program.

To learn more about this author visit the following links:

GOODREADS     

TWITTER 

FACEBOOK 

AMAZON     

CHAPTERS 

SARCOIDOSIS FOUNDATION 

  

ROSEMARKED by Bestselling Author LIVIA BLACKBURNE hits shelves in 2 days. This book is destined to become a Bestseller, so grab your copy right away. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟  

Title: ROSEMARKED       

Author: LIVIA BLACKBURNE  

Genre: YOUNG ADULT FICTION, FANTASY, ROMANCE, MULTICULTURAL BOOKS, DIVERSE BOOKS 

AGES: 12-18  GRADES: 7-12

Length: 400 PAGES

Publisher: HYPERION 

Type of Book: EBOOK

Received From: NETGALLEY 

Release Date: NOVEMBER 7, 2017

ISBN: 978-1-4847-8855-4 (HARDCOVER)

Price: $US $17.99 / CAN $18.99

Rating: 5 OUT OF 5 STARS 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


DESCRIPTION

A healer who cannot be healed . . .

When Zivah falls prey to the deadly rose plague, she knows it’s only a matter of time before she fully succumbs. Now she’s destined to live her last days in isolation, cut off from her people and unable to practice her art-until a threat to her village creates a need that only she can fill.

A soldier shattered by war . . .

Broken by torture at the hands of the Amparan Empire, Dineas thirsts for revenge against his captors. Now escaped and reunited with his tribe, he’ll do anything to free them from Amparan rule-even if it means undertaking a plan that risks not only his life but his very self.

Thrust together on a high-stakes mission to spy on the capital, the two couldn’t be more different: Zivah, deeply committed to her vow of healing, and Dineas, yearning for vengeance. But as they grow closer, they must find common ground to protect those they love. And amidst the constant fear of discovery, the two grapple with a mutual attraction that could break both of their carefully guarded hearts.

This smart, sweeping fantasy with a political edge and a slow-burning romance will capture fans of The Lumatere Chronicles and An Ember in the Ashes. 


MY REVIEW:

This YA novel has everything a teen reader could want. Rosemarked is a mixture of dystopian fiction and fantasy fiction and it combines the two genres perfectly.

Author Livia Blackburne has done an astonishing wonderful job of world-building. She has created not just a single city and its surrounding geography, but an entire continent.

She has created distinct races, each with their own distinct culture, religions and in some cases, language.

The two main characters are Zivah and Dineas. They come from completely different backgrounds and their life philosophies could not be more different. Yet their lives are inextricably entwined whether they like it or not.

As often happens in reality, the more time Zivah and Dineas spend together, the more they realize that despite their outward appearances, they are not so different after all. This is a lesson that readers will hopefully take to heart, and transfer into their own lives; thus reducing racial discrimination in the real world.

I was particularly impressed with Zivah’s character. She is a strong young woman who knows what she wants and will let nothing or noone get in the way of achieving her goal. Even though she is tough and fierce, she is also a caring person who wants to alleviate the suffering of others, even when it puts herself at risk. She is a terrific role model for the teens who will be reading this book.

Those who enjoy books with lots of action, some intricate politics, and a dash of romance will love ROSEMARKED. It is for this reason that I am rating this Young Adult novel as 5 out of 5 Stars and I predict that ROSEMARKED will take ìts rightful place on Teen Bestseller lists shortly after its release on Tuesday, November 7th.

**Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book.** 

Enter Livia Blackburne’s giveaway to win a signed copy and some swag by clicking HERE.     


ADD THIS BOOK TO GOODREADS:



ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 


New York Times bestselling author Livia Blackburne wrote her first novel while she was a PhD student at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where she conducted research on the neuroscience of reading acquisition in children.  Upon graduation, she switched to writing full time, which also involves getting into people’s heads but without the help of a three tesla MRI scanner.  


To learn more about this author visit the following links
:

OFFICIAL WEBSITE     

GOODREADS 

TWITTER 

FACEBOOK 

INSTAGRAM 

WATTPAD 

AMAZON 
  


FROM LIVIA BLACKBURNE’S WEBSITE – NINE THINGS ABOUT HER…  

1. She writes fantasy. Most often YA fantasy, but sometimes she branches  out.

2. She was born in Taiwan, raised in Albuqurque, and spent her twenties in Boston, where she earned an A.B. in Biochemical Sciences from Harvard and PhD in cognitive neuroscience from MIT.

3. She started her debut novel Midnight Thief in high school, because writing a novel was the only way she could get out of the mandatory camping requirement.  She finished about 60 pages.  They were 60 awful, awful pages. She finished Midnight Thief 12 years later, because writing a novel was the only way she could keep her sanity while conducting  doctoral research.  This time, she got to 370 pages, and they were much less awful than the initial 60.

4. She writes a blog about psychology and neuroscience for writers.  You can check it out here

5. Like every good Asian kid, she played the piano as a child.  She doesn’t  do that as much anymore, but still loves to sing and dance.

6. She is horrible at any sport that involve fast moving projectiles, and  dislikes most sports that involve highly repetitive movements (running, swimming, biking, etc.).  This leaves basically dancing and martial arts.

7. When she wanted sweets as a child, her mother would give her one M&M.  She thought that was normal, and to this day, has a very low tolerance for sweets.  One bite of chocolate bar, half a scoop of ice cream is about all she can take.

8. If she had to choose one author with the biggest influence on her reading and writing development, it would be Tamora Pierce.

9. Some of her favorite books:  The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner, Plain Kate by Erin Bow, Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch, The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.