It Started With A Whisper

image

IT STARTED WITH A WHISPER
by A.W. Hartoin

First off I want to comment on the cover art. It is absolutely gorgeous and the artist who created it deserves kudos for a job very well done.

Now, onto the story itself…

The book begins with:

“People think I wanted revenge on Miss Pritchett. I did, of course. Who wouldn’t? But my intentions had unintended consequences. Nobody believes that though. My family thinks I knew what I was doing. But how could I plan the events of that summer? So many variables. A crazed llama, feuding cousins, not to mention Miss Pritchett herself. I couldn’t control them.”

After a tough freshman year at high school, Ernest (or Puppy as everyone calls him) is looking forward to spending his summer at the family cottage. His cousins and friends will also be joining him at “Camp.”

The Goodreads book description:
“Wishes are powerful things, if you belong to the MacClarity clan. You can ask Ernest for anything and he’ll make it come true, even though he’s been dead for nearly a hundred years. Puppy MacClarity doesn’t take the rumors about Ernest too seriously. But when he’s had enough of his teacher’s harassment, Puppy asks Ernest to take care of Miss Pritchett for him. Ernest does and family secrets start to surface like magic.

During a summer filled with both fear and fun, Puppy begins to realize that Ernest isn’t the only special thing about his family, and their oddities aren’t just skin deep. Too bad he didn’t know sooner.”

The author does a terrific job of describing the characters in the book, including Puppy’s mother. He says that people consider her both strange and Bohemian. “Once I found out what bohemian meant, I agreed. Who else wore corsets over men’s suits or lederhosen to the Fourth of July picnic? Maybe I should have cared, but I didn’t. She was Mom and I was used to it.”

Fun, silly, whimsical, hilarious, mysterious and intriguing. All in all this was a fun and entertaining read.

The only small issue I had with this book was that there were a few instances where sexual situations were mentioned that I believe should have been left out of the book completely. It is because of those few pages that this book is inappropriate for kids under 13. If not for that, this could easily have been rated as a book for all ages. Also, I don’t think that they added to the story at all and were therefore unnecessary. Maybe the author was trying to increase the book’s appeal to teenage boys, but I still believe those parts could have been eliminated.

Also, the book contains a lot of characters and at times I found it hard to keep who was who straight in my mind. However, each of these people added to the plot-line in their own way.

This book is definitely worth reading and I give it a rating of 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

