FLORENCE AND ME by Elaine Bertolotti

image

* I received a free electronic copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

This book is a relatively short travel memoir. I am an avid traveller myself and always keep a journal during my trips so I am always interested in reading memoirs of other people’s adventures. I suppose it is a way to learn about new places in a personal way. Travel websites are too dry to hold any appeal for me and it is through memoirs that I have added many places that I would like to visit onto my bucket list.

A good travel memoir is about experiences rather than places. “Florence and Me” is such a memoir. The author’s love of, and passion for Florence comes across on every page.

The cover of this book states “How the city of Florence befriended an American girl from Brooklyn.” The book delivers exactly that story in an interesting and very readable manner. The events in this book took place in the 1970’s and even though this was many years ago, the story still feels fresh.

I enjoyed the conversational style the author uses in this book. I actually laughed out loud when I read the following line: ” If I didn’t know a word, it didn’t daunt me, I invented. Pushare was my version of to push. I generally bought a frama for a painting, a spoona for my coffee, and put lots of cheesa on my spaghetti.”

The only complaint I have about this book is that there are a few minor proof-reading errors. An example of this is: ” Upstairs, lived a young Greek couple who was studying Architecture at the University.” Instead of “was” it should say “were”.

I rate this travel memoir as 4.5 out of 5 stars. If you enjoy reading about the adventures of others, you will enjoy “Florence and Me” by Elaine Bertolotti.

To find out more about this author, visit her online at http://www.amazon.com/Elaine-Bertolotti/e/B00K8U75WI/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

image

To read more of my reviews, visit my blog at http://amiesbookreviews.WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

