THE WATCHING – The Waiting Series Book 2 by Elizabeth Burgess & Marie Hewes – BOOK REVIEW

Image obtained from

Image obtained from

THE WATCHING – The Waiting Series: Book Two

Authors: Elizabeth Burgess and Marie Hewes

Publication Date: March 13, 2015

Genre: Thriller, Mystery

Type of Book: eBook

Length: pages

Intended Readers: Adults 18+

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

** All three books in this series are on sale on Amazon for $0.99 each until April 5th, 2015.

* I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book is #2 in THE WAITING Series. There is a full length book (The Waiting #1) and a novella (The Funeral – Book 1.5) before this book.

* WARNING* This book will not make much sense if readers have not read THE WAITING and THE FUNERAL first. To understand exactly what is happening with each of the characters and how they came to this point in their lives is essential to truly appreciate the storyline.

THE WAITING SERIES is complex and has a complicated plot with a large cast of characters.

This book focuses more on the O’Malley and Caissy families. But the love triangle of Arianna and her husband, Andrew and his best friend, Gregory is still part of the story.

Since their son, Nash was murdered Andrew and Arianne have decided to work on repairing their marriage. Arianne still loves Gregory, but she feels that she must try to fix her marriage to Andrew.

For his part, Andrew has stopped having sex with every female in the hospital and has actually started paying attention to his children.

Gregory is trying to make his relationship with Tiffany work. He believes she is pregnant with his child and he has always wanted a child of his own, but he would leave her in a heartbeat if Arianne would have him.

Tiffany is not really pregnant. Well, she doesn’t start out that way. She gets inseminated but there does not seem to be a plan for what will happen when the baby is born and a DNA test is conducted. The pregnancy and everything else she does is a direct result of orders from Bob O’Malley. She is a pawn in a much bigger game and has no idea what she has gotten herself involved in.

Jamie Caissy is the family patriarch. His wife, Helen, has Alzheimer’s Disease and maybe other mental issues. Jamie owns and operates a massive sugar plantation and he seems invincible.

I could go on and on describing what is happening with each of the characters in this book, but I will say that it is much more fun to just read it and find out for yourself.

This book (and in fact the entire series so far) has it all. There is murder, hate, love, lust, betrayals, family drama, secrets and lies.

This series is incredible. The vast number of characters should make the book confusing, but the authors have done such an amazing job of character building and in explaining how each character ties in to the main plot and how their stories are all interconnected.

As far as I am concerned everyone needs to read these books. It’s intricate plot and detailed characters will ensure that every reader will become a fan. You MUST READ these books.

I am very much looking forward to reading THE FIRE: Book 2.5 in The Waiting Series.

NOTE: This book is intended for mature readers due to adult scenes, situations and language.


Image obtained from

Image obtained from

Elizabeth Burgess and Marie Hewes have been best friends since the ages of six and four. They both live with their partners in Louisiana. THE WAITING is their first book.

To learn more about these authors visit:

Follow @LiddyBurgess on Twitter for updates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s