Image obtained from

Image obtained from


Author: Diane V. Mulligan

Type of Book: Audiobook – Unabridged

Narrator: Becket Royce

Length: 6 hours, 10 minutes

Genre: Literary Fiction, Women’s Fiction

Release Date: November 24, 2014

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Abby is definitely not living her dream life. In fact, her life kind of sucks. She works at a dumpy bar and lives in a dumpy apartment. Her boyfriend of several years is basically a self-centered jerk who doesn’t appreciate her and takes her for granted. The only bright spot in her life is that she shares her dumpy apartment with her best friend since childhood, Brianna. But, Brianna is engaged to be married and soon Abby will be on her own.

Maggie thought she had everything she ever wanted. She had moved away from her small hometown and travelled to California. She had dreamed of becoming an artist, but she met a rich man, married him and gave up her artistic dreams to live a different dream: the dream of a life filled with domestic bliss. Except the dream of bliss turned out not to be as great as she had hoped. Now, she is divorced and has moved home to live with her mother, and her mother’s boyfriend while she figures out what to do with the rest if her life.

Nathaniel too had big dreams. He was going to make it big as a musician with his band called THE LATECOMERS. But real life has a habit of getting in the way of dreams. Now in his thirties he is stuck teaching philosophy to bored community college students. He isn’t even a tenured professor. In fact, he teaches classes at three different colleges just to make ends meet and his band is no longer together.

Nathaniel and Abby have been a couple for many years. Initially they met at the bar where Abby works and where The Latecomers played once a week at Open Mike Night.

But, Nathaniel and Abby have vastly different outlooks on their relationship.

When a crisis arises and a person from the past re-enters their lives, Abby, Nathaniel and Maggie must all decide exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives. In other words: they all have to finally grow up.

The character development throughout this audiobook is phenomenal. Listeners will find themselves caring about the main characters and becoming invested in their lives. The test of a great work of fiction (in my opinion) is when the reader (or in this case, the listener) is completely absorbed by the story. There are times when I wished I could yell at both Abby and Maggie and times I wished I could literally slap some sense into Nathaniel.

Another thing I liked about THE LATECOMER’S FAN CLUB was it’s believability. Most people will be able to relate to the characters and to the situations they find themselves in throughout the book. It seems that more and more adult children are moving back in with their parents after having moved out years before. I have many coworkers whose children are once again living at home in their late twenties or early thirties.

Beckett Royce is a wonderful narrator. She has the sort of voice that regular people can relate to. She uses inflection and tone expertly to convey the emotions and ideas being portrayed in the story. It is evident that she read the book (probably more than once) before she began the process of narration. This is one of the reasons that the audiobook flows so well.

I rate this audiobook as 5 out of 5 stars. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

* I received a free copy of this audiobook in exchange for an honest review.


Image obtained from

Image obtained from

Diane’s first novel, Watch Me Disappear, was a finalist in the Kindle Book Review’s Best Indie Book Awards in the YA category in 2013. Her second novel, a work of contemporary adult fiction, The Latecomers Fan Club, was released in November 2013. It was named a 2014 IndieReader Discovery Award winner.

Diane holds a BA in American Studies from Mount Holyoke College and a Master’s degree in teaching from Simmons College. She’s the managing editor at The Worcester Review and the director of The Betty Curtis Worcester County Young Writers’ Conference . You can also find her occasionally strumming her guitar and singing at various bars in central Massachusetts, where she lives with her husband.

To learn more visit her website at:

One thought on “THE LATECOMER’S FAN CLUB by Diane V. Mulligan – AUDIOBOOK REVIEW

  1. Pingback: Audiobook News & Reviews: 05/23 – 06/01 | ListenUp Audiobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s