A Steampunk Adventure Novel
Magnificent Devices Series – Book One

Author: Shelley Adina

Type of Book: eBook

Genre: Science Fiction, Steampunk

Release Date: 2011

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The cover of this book is a stunning treat for the eyes. It was this cover which caught my eye and made me want to know what the book was about. I must give kudos to Kalen O’Donnell for the cover design. The cover art is by Phat Puppy Art and the images are from Shutterstock. All images and artwork are used under license.

The year is 1889. The setting is London, England. Victoria is Queen of England and Charles Darwin’s son is the Prime Minister. Their world is powered by steam.

Seventeen year old Claire Trevelyan, the daughter of Viscount St. Ives attends St. Cecelia’s Academy for Young Ladies.

The book begins with Claire causing a minor explosion during her “Chemistry of the Home” class. Her professor punishes her by assigning her the task of writing out a phrase one hundred times. The phrase she is to write is: “I will obey instruction and curb my unladylike curiosity.”

Readers learn quite a bit about Claire just based on this single incident. The professor had told Claire not to add peppermint to an infusion of dandelion and burdock, but had neglected to tell her why. When he asks her why she mixed the chemicals after specifically being told not to, she replies with complete and utter honesty: “To see what would happen, sir.”

Claire is curious and inquisitive, but neither of those traits are deemed as desirable in a young woman. Claire is expected to want nothing more than to marry a rich man and to be the perfect wife, but Claire wants to attend University to study engineering.

A tragic turn of events changes Lady Claire’s life forever.

This book is full of amazing and surprising twists and turns. I loved the characters she included and the world she has created is vivid and believable.

I am very much looking forward to reading the entire Magnificent Devices series.

I rate this book as 4.5 out of 5 stars.

The Magnificent Devices Steampunk Adventure Series consists of eight books. In order they are:

1. Lady of Devices
2. Her Own Devices
3. Magnificent Devices
4. Brilliant Devices
5. A Lady of Resources
6. A Lady of Spirit
7. A Lady of Integrity
8. A Gentleman of Means




Shelley Adina is an author, a copyeditor, and a teaching writer in the MFA in Writing Popular Fiction program at Seton Hill University. She also writes Amish fiction under the name of Adina Senft. Her “Magnificent Devices” books have been on the Amazon bestseller list.

To learn more about this author visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s