IGNITE THE SHADOWS by Ingrid Seymour – BOOK REVIEW

Cover image obtained from www.ingridseymour.com

Cover image obtained from http://www.ingridseymour.com

IGNITE THE SHADOWS: Book One

Author: Ingrid Seymour

Type of Book: eBook

Length: 400 pages

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction

Release Date: April 23, 2015

Publisher: Harper Voyager an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers Ltd.

ISBN: 9780008113667

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

* I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

“I try not to look inside the alley. It’s dark. Creepy dark.”
“Really I don’t know what I was thinking when I let Xave slink in there to spy on his brother. He walked between the two buildings until shadows devoured him.”

It’s February in Seattle, Washington. Marci and Xave (short for Xavier) have followed Xave’s brother Clark to the “bad” side of town. They are trying to figure out exactly what Clark is up to.

Xave followed Clark into the alley while Marci waited with the motorcycle running. Marci spent long minutes trying to keep her stress level low. She knew that stress would trigger her and she needed to avoid all triggers.

“The alley looks like a tomb of indefinite depth. I’m trying to tear my eyes away from it when my hands begin to shake. Crap. Not now. There’s never a good time for an attack, but right now has got to be the worst. Fear floods my chest, paralyzing my racing heart.”

Escaping on a motorbike, Marci feels her “self” being taken over. “All my senses are gone. Yet somehow, I know I’m here, pushed to a corner where I’m tiny and inconsequential. I’m weightless. A plundered body, a consciousness without gray matter, nerve endings or synapses. A wisp of nothing. WHAT IS THIS? Then I understand. The shadows have won. I’ve lost total control like never before. My brain, my body are gone. I have been … replaced…”

It is easy to imagine the absolute and utter fear that Marci feels. It is a terrifying concept to be fully aware, while something takes control of your entire body. Marci’s terror and helplessness are described by the author:

“This thing didn’t kill me. It made me a prisoner, and it’s worse than a thousand deaths at the blade-end of a thousand knives.”

As if fighting off some mysterious force trying to take over her body isn’t enough, something or someone has hacked into her computer system.

That should never have happened. Marci is one of the best hackers on the Net. She had set up the security on her “gear” herself and the protection she placed on it should have kept out just about anyone.

Now, throw in a mother who is totally emotionally absent and who spends all of her time obsessing over the sixteen year old kidnapping of Marci’s twin from the hospital immediately after their birth.

Poor Marci. She has quite the challenging life and more problems than any teenager should ever have to deal with.

When a classmate’s father is murdered, Marci’s entire existence is thrown into utter turmoil. Will Marci be able to get through it? Or will it all become too much for her to bear? And, what the heck does the dead man have to with her?

For answers you will need to read the book.

Ingrid Seymour has done an outstanding job of creating characters that are realistic and that readers (especially young adults) will be able to relate to.

The lead character, Marci, is not a typical heroine. Marci’s mother is caucasian and her father was hispanic. Marci inherited her coloring from her father and her grandfather who had come from Chile to the United States.

I love the fact that the author has chosen to use multiple ethnicities in her work. This is much more reflective of today’s society than books that contain only caucasian characters.

This book sucks the reader into the story right from the first chapter. It is packed so full of action that readers will not want to put it down.

I loved the science of the story and the unique take on an age-old concept. I also really enjoyed learning more about Marci.

There is a romantic sub-plot but it never takes over the story. The focus remains where it should be – on the plot.

The author also has a flare for describing complex emotions and perfectly captures the awkwardness and confusion of first love.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I will be eagerly awaiting the release of the next two books in the trilogy.

I rate IGNITE THE SHADOWS as 5 out of 5 stars. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

FAVORITE QUOTES:

“We speed for a few blocks and I dare hope we’ve left the cop behind, but I’m fooling myself. He can go from zero to screwing-up-our-lives faster than I can.”

“My life as I know it is disintegrating like sandcastles in a windstorm.”

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Author photo obtained from www.ingridseymour.com

Author photo obtained from http://www.ingridseymour.com

Ingrid Seymour is not only an author, she is also a software engineer. She spends some of her time cooking exotic recipes, working out and hanging out with family and friends.

Ingrid lives in Birmingham, Alabama with her husband and two sons.

You can follow Ingrid on Twitter @Ingrid_Seymour

Visit her website at http://www.ingridseymour.com

One thought on “IGNITE THE SHADOWS by Ingrid Seymour – BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

