4 Stars for WORSE THAN DEATH by Mark Allen – Novella Review

A WORSE THAN DEATH

Title: WORSE THAN DEATH

Subtitle: Day One of the Zombie Apocalypse

Author: Mark Allen

Type of Book: eBook – Novella

Length: 27 pages

Genre: Horror

Release Date: April 2014

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

*** HOLY CRAP***

That was my response to reading the very first sentence in this story. I won’t quote it here (as much as I would love to) because I don’t want to ruin the beginning for potential readers.

** I feel that I need to add a warning to this review that WORSE THAN DEATH is not suitable for all readers. This book contains scenes of graphic violence that will be disturbing to some readers. I suggest that this book is only appropriate for adult readers ages 18 and older.**

Russell Stavin experiences a recurring and absolutely horrific nightmare every night. “Except it wasn’t a dream. It was a memory.”

Russell had been a Marine Scout Sniper who spent two years in Afghanistan. He now lives on a thirty acre property located in the Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York with his wife and young daughter.

When zombies start to rise Russell Stavin is shocked and appalled, but he quickly learns that sometimes the walking dead can be the least of your worries.

His wife and daughter are trapped by an evil man and Russell is determined to save them despite the fact that he must somehow make his way through a horde of zombies to do it.

This book also contains a bonus short story entitled “All The Way”.

I enjoyed WORSE THAN DEATH. It is a fast-paced, gore-filled tale of the first day of the zombie apocalypse.

The author has the gift of hard-hitting writing that grabs your attention and holds it right until the very end.

I have read A LOT of zombie fiction, so it takes quite a bit to impress me. This story did that.

Also, since it is only 27 pages long it is a quick read. You can even read it on your lunch hour.

I love the cover of this novella. I don’t know if it was done on purpose, but the cover brings to my mind posters of B Horror Movies from the 1970s. It has a distinctive classic horror flair that attracted me to it.

The quote I liked the best in this book is: “The zombie went down as if bitch-slapped by the hand of God.”

I rate this novella as 4 out of 5 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Author Mark Allen

Mark Allen lives in the Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York. He writes horror and action fiction.

For more information visit his blog at www.gunsgutsgod.blogspot.com

Facebook
www.facebook.com/MarkAllenWriter

Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

