4 Stars for THE SKELETON SONG by Angela Kulig – BOOK REVIEW

1 angels skeleton

Title: THE SKELETON SONG

Series: SKELETON LAKE

Author: ANGELA KULIG

Type of Book: eBook

Length: 91 pages

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Release Date: 2012

Rating: 4 out of 4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Before I begin writing my review of the content of this book, I feel that I must comment on the stunning cover of this novella. It is absolutely gorgeous. It does exactly what a good cover should – it draws your eye. Kudos go to the cover artist.

Now, on to the book:

Skeleton Lake certainly lives up to its name. I feel the need to mention that the beginning is a bit traumatic, but it is certainly memorable.

“Though drowning isn’t the way that most adventures start, it is the only way at Skeleton Lake.”

At only 91 pages, this novella can be read in a single afternoon. The author, Angela Kulig, has come up with a truly strange yet interesting concept.

Skeleton Lake is a place to which certain people are called. Once they are called, they come. There is no way to refuse. Once they arrive at the lake, there is no going back to their old lives.

That siren call compels them to enter the lake which is where their human bodies die. But, the soul remains. They become animated skeletons and they “grow up”. Once they reach puberty they are told who their soulmate is.

Imagine how amazing it must feel to meet the other half of yourself; to feel a sense of utter contentment. It would be pure bliss!

But, what if you wanted to be able to choose? What happened to free will? Is it really love if you had no say in the choosing of your soulmate?

You need to read THE SKELETON SONG to find out. I have to admit that the huge number of typos drove me crazy, but that is because I am a perfectionist and I expect a high level of quality from a published book.

I enjoyed this book. At times I found it strange and confusing, but I believe that was the author’s intention. It mirrors the way the main character feels throughout much of the story.

I recommend reading this book if you are a fan of the weird and the macabre.

I rate THE SKELETON SONG as 4 out of 5 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The next book in The Skeleton Lake series is already available and I have added it to my TBR (To Be Read) list.

My favourite quote from this book is: “The sight and smell was so intense, I wondered if heaven had begun to leak into the real world.”

~ I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: (Information copied from www.angelakulig.com )

1 Angela Kulig Author pic

I wrote my first novel just shy of my thirteenth birthday, and at twenty-nine I still haven’t stopped. Many times, I write about dark, tragic, and beautiful things. Sometimes, I write about love. Love in it’s various forms; as love isn’t all peanut butter cups and roses, usually it’s dreadful. Often it’s cataclysmic.

All I ever wanted to do was write books, but that was the dream of a little girl and it was surprisingly easily fulfilled. Now I want to write books people read, different books, about unique places and things; shocking books, books that make you feel alive, and characters you sometimes wish weren’t dead.

Leave a Reply

