EMMY NATION BLOG TOUR – BOOK REVIEW & GIVEAWAY

1455141427EMMY NATION

Book Description for Emmy Nation:

Being an independent woman in 1913 London is certainly empowering, but Emmy Nation is tired of the inescapable damp seeping through her worn shoes and the hopeless grumblings of her stomach.

When she receives an offer from Scotland Yard to boost her typist income by spying on the Women’s Social and Political Union (WSPU), Emmy jumps at the chance. But as she grows closer to the WSPU women the lines begin to blur, and when a painful part of her past resurfaces Emmy begins to question her choices.

​How far are you willing to go to secure your equality?

Buy the book:  Amazon   Book Depository

See the video trailer:

Author’s Bio:

 1290339_origEMMYNATIONAUTRHOR

L. Davis Munro holds a master’s degree with a focus on women’s suffrage theatre and works in theatre and dance. She currently lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, with her husband and her dog.

Connect with the author:   Website   Twitter   Facebook

 

MY REVIEW:

Title: EMMY NATION: Undercover Suffragette

Series: EMMY NATION: Book One

Author: L. Davis Munro

Type of Book: Paperback

Length: 320 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction, Women’s Fiction

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 9781517529673

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

~ I received a free copy of this book from iRead Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review.

“Their hands, used to sewing, writing letters to friends, and smoothing back children’s hair, are covered in dirt and their own blood. Their hands will never again be delicate things to be covered in lace gloves or to hold a fan to their faces. Their hands are now the hands of ruin, soldiers’ hands, strong hands, women’s hands. A new breed of woman. A woman to stand up for her rights as a citizen of the world. To bring together the two halves of one group. Men and women. That was the job of these hands. But first, destruction. First, make them listen.”

London in 1913 is a hard place to be female and it is especially difficult and dangerous to be an independent woman. But, independent is exactly what Emmy Nation is. She may be cold and hungry, and have perpetually wet feet since her only pair of boots are full of holes, but at least she has her independence.

Working as a typist certainly does not pay well, so when she is approached by Scotland Yard and offered a chance to make some extra income by spying on the WSPU (Women’s Social and Political Union) she jumps at the chance.

Emmy has never been involved with the Suffragettes before, in fact, she is so busy just trying to survive, that she hasn’t given the matter much thought.

But, as time goes on, Emmy discovers that she rather likes and admires the women of the WSPU and she begins to question what is right and what is wrong. After all, she wonders, just how far would she be willing to go to secure equality for herself and for all women.

Modern day women may have a hard time picturing what life was like for women in 1913. Personally I cannot imagine being considered sub-human or as the property of my husband. That would definitely not go over well in my household.

I think it is easy for us modern women to forget to thank the brave suffragettes that fought so that we could enjoy the right to vote. We always remember to thank the soldiers that fought for our freedom, but what about those who fought other important battles? There is a “Remembrance Day” here in Canada and a “Veterans Day” in the United States. Perhaps it is time to declare a “Suffragette Day”.

This book may be fiction, but it is based on historical facts. Yes, Emmy is fictional, but it is easy to believe that women just like her actually existed.

When this book first arrived at my door I was unsure what I thought of its stark cover. However, the more I thought about it, the more I liked the cover. The green colour draws the eye and the fact that the only picture is that of an old-fashioned typewriter are intriguing. The lack of hints on the cover as to the plot forces the potential reader to pick up the book and to read the back cover of they want more information. This is a brilliant strategy. I know that (for me) once I have a book in my hands, I am reluctant to let it go.

Emmy is a wonderfully nuanced character and the more the reader learns about her, the more they like her.

EMMY NATION is engrossing. This book will take readers on a heart pounding ride filled with secrets, betrayals, love, duty, honour, and much more. This book held me enthralled from start to finish.

L. Davis Munro has a gift. Not only is her character development absolutely phenomenal, but her ability to describe a scene is almost too good to be believed. There were moments when I felt that if I closed my eyes for just a second, that I would open them to find myself surrounded by the sights, sounds and even the smells of 1913 London.

What could improve this book?
Nothing! I just want MORE. I am now a fan of L. Davis Munro and I will be impatiently awaiting the next book in the “Emmy Nation” series.

If it was possible to give this book 6 stars, I would do so. This book has earned 5 out of 5 Stars and a spot in my list of MUST READ recommendations. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

GUEST POST:

On a writing schedule

I need solitude. This is a fact that most everyone in my life has come to accept. I thrive on having alone time, quiet time, space to myself. I have found the same to be true in my writing life. I cannot write if my husband is home. I just feel a distraction. Not to mention that I actually quite like to write out loud (dialogue always seems to come more naturally if I play act the scene!)

Virginia Woolf said it best, I need “A Room of One’s Own” more than anything else to be productive in my writing. If only that were possible. With a one bedroom home, a room of one’s own is out of the question. So much of my discovery into my writing practice is about finding a quiet, solitary place that is all mine.

The best thing I have found is to use my mornings to their fullest extent. About two years ago, when I was starting to dive into writing my novel, Emmy Nation: Undercover Suffragette, I started a habit of waking up early, really early. I created an extra couple of ours in the morning, before my husband woke up, before the dog had to be walked, before I needed to start getting ready for work, that were all mine. Maybe not a room of my own, but time of my own.

In the grey dawn light, I savoured my coffee and started my day with morning pages, a new practice I had picked up from The Artist’s Way, by Julia Cameron. I had heard about this book for years and years and finally decided to read it. Although much from the book passed right through me, I took away this one really amazing practice that has opened up a lot of mental space for me. Morning pages, the practice of writing in a journal every morning for a set amount of time, or pages, has allowed me to free my mind of many things that I didn’t even know I was holding onto. Creating a quiet space inside me that reflected the physical space around me. This combination of morning pages and alone time helped me open up to writing the book and getting a first draft on paper.

iRead Website new logo (2)

BLOG TOUR STOPS:

Feb 15 – Working Mommy Journal – review / author interview / giveaway

Feb 16 – Jorie Loves a Story – review / author interview

Feb 16 – Jaquo Lifestyle Magazine – review

Feb 17 – Laura Fabiani – Top 500 Amazon.ca Reviewer – review

Feb 17 – Jaquo Lifestyle Magazine – guest post

Feb 18 – Reviews by Martha’s Bookshelf – review / guest post / giveaway

Feb 19 – #redhead.with.book – review / giveaway

Feb 22 – Book Reviews Nature Photos and Everything in Between – review

Feb 22 – History from a Woman’s Perspective – review

Feb 23 – A Mama’s Corner of the World – review / giveaway

Feb 23 – Bound 4 Escape – review / giveaway

Feb 24 – Sahar’s Blog – review

Feb 25 – Laura’s Interests – review / guest post / giveaway

Feb 26 – Library of Clean Reads – review / giveaway

GIVEAWAY:

Prizes:Win 1 of 2 prizes!  A copy of Emmy Nation + $15 Amazon gift card

(print book USA & Canada) (ebook International)

CLICK THIS LINK:       a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

5 thoughts on “EMMY NATION BLOG TOUR – BOOK REVIEW & GIVEAWAY

Leave a Reply

