TOP 150 UNUSUAL THINGS TO SEE IN ONTARIO by Ron Brown earns 4.5 out of 5 Stars and I Can’t Wait to Start Visiting These Places.

Title: TOP 150 UNUSUAL THINGS TO SEE IN ONTARIO

Edition: 5th Edition – Revised & Expanded

Author: RON BROWN

Genre: NON-FICTION, TRAVEL

Publisher: THE BOSTON MILLS PRESS 

Length: 320 pages 

Release Date: June 7, 2016

Price: $26.61 CDN Online at Chapters 

Price: $26.64 CDN at AMAZON  

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

This is a fascinating coffee-table sized book (8.5 x 11 inches).

Whether you currently live in Ontario, Canada or are just visiting our beautiful and “unusual” province, this book is a must have.

I have lived in Ontario for most of my life (all of it except for a few young adult years when I lived in British Columbia) and yet most of the “Top 150 Unusual Things To See In Ontario” are new to me.

This book is divided into four geographic sections. Each section begins with a map of that area and on the map are numbered locations that correspond to each individual “Unusual Thing To See.”

For each item there is a photograph and a description that gives a brief history and synopsis of what you can see at that specific location. It also includes a written description of where the site is located.

I enjoyed reading the historical tidbits about each site and I love that I now have many new places to explore and discover – some of which are within an hour’s drive of my home.

The one thing that I would like to see added to the next edition of this book is a more detailed and close-up map to the location of each site. It is the fact that these close-up maps are not included that prompted me to give this book a rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars rather than a perfect 5 out of 5. 

I recommend this book to every Ontarian and would love to hear back from people as they visit each site. Personally, I plan to attempt to visit all 150 UNUSUAL THINGS.

A few of the items in this book are so amazing that I have added seeing them to my bucket list.

Where else but Ontario would you find a two-storey outhouse? Too funny. That I just have to see.

Here are some additional pictures I found online of a few of the sites that are listed in the book.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
:

Photo obtained from the author’s Goodreads profile

Ron Brown is a geographer and travel author of more than twenty books, including Rails to the Atlantic, The Train Doesn’t Stop Here Anymore, and Back Roads of Ontario. He is past chair of the Writers’ Union of Canada and leads tours of Ontario’s unusual sights. He lives in Toronto.“Nobody knows Ontario like Ron Brown” is how the CBC once described this author, geographer, and travel writer. Ron Brown has long had a love affair with the landscapes of Canada. This love affair shines through on every page of this book.


For more information, visit Ron Brown’s Official Website.

Leave a Reply

